Top primary sector employers shortlisted: NZ

Attracting and keeping the best people working in our primary industries is one of the most significant challenges for the sector, Minister of Agriculture Damien O’Connor said as he announced the finalists in the first Primary Industries Good Employer Awards.

Mr O’Connor acknowledged those who have shown their commitment to good employment practices such as training, paying and treating staff well, and to those throughout the sector who contribute to these sustainable business models.

“Good staff are the foundation of all good businesses and I congratulate the finalists announced today who are doing their bit to keep their employees safe, motivated and with plenty of room to grow,” Damien O’Connor said.

“I’ve met exceptional employers and workers across the sector and one particular message has stayed with me: ‘First we look after the people, then they’ll look after the animals, and everything else will follow.’

“Feeding the world and creating the best ideas in agriculture to build sustainable primary industries and a strong economy is a challenge to our brightest and best,” Damien O’Connor said.

The winners will be announced at Parliament in Wellington on 27 November 2018.

The finalists in the five categories are:

• Innovative Employment Practices

o Jenny Buckley and Dave van den Beuken, Jaydee Partnership

o Stewart Weatherstone, Rotopai Farms Ltd

o Ritchie Legge, Ravensdown Ltd

o Hew Dalrymple, Waitatapia

o Bert Hughes, Forest Enterprises Ltd

o Ben and Nicky Allomes, Hopelands Dairies Ltd

o Edith Sykes, Ballance Agri-Nutrients Ltd

• Employee Development

o Heather Remnant, At the Vets

o Ben and Belinda Price, Price Trusts Partnership

o Kevin and Kylie Ihaka, Forest Protection Services

o Patrick Malley, Onyx Capital Limited

o Justine Kidd, Theland Farm Group

o Julie Bassett, Constellation Brands New Zealand

• Safe And Healthy Work Environments

o Duncan and Anne-Marie Wells, Huntly Road Dairies

o Kevin Ihaka, Forest Protection Services

o Michelle Cherrington, Moana

o Craig Durbin, NZSF Waikato Farms Ltd

o James Trevelyan, Trevelyan’s 

• Māori Agribusiness

o Miraka

o Zac Te Ahuru, Ruapehu Agricultural Developments Ltd

o Aaron Kurei, Te Kaha Gold Spraying Limited

• Minister’s Award

o Michael and Susie Woodward, Woodward Farms

o Stephen Hopkinson, Taranaki Veterinary Centre

o Bruce Beaton, Kristen Nash and Maurice Windle, T&G Global, Pipfruit

o Ben and Nicky Allomes, Hopelands Dairies Ltd

o James Trevelyan, Trevelyan’s

/Public Release. The material in this public release comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.