UN Human Rights Committee to review Luxembourg, Uruguay, Ireland, Georgia, Hong Kong and Macao


The UN Human Rights Committee is holding its current session from 27 June to 27 July, during which it will review Luxembourg, Uruguay, Ireland, Georgia, Hong Kong-China and Macao-China.

The six parties are among the 173 members to the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights. They are required to undergo regular reviews by the Committee of 18 independent international experts on how they are implementing the Covenant as well as the Committee’s previous recommendations.

The Human Rights Committee, which has received the respective country reports and other submissions from non-governmental organizations, will discuss a range of issues with the six delegations through public dialogues on the following dates:


29 June 15:00-18:00 (Geneva time)

30 June 10:00-13:00


30 June 15:00-18:00

1 July 10:00-13:00


4 July 15:00-18:00

5 July 10:00-13:00


5 July 15:00-18:00

6 July 10:00-13:00

Hong Kong – China

7 July 10:00-12:00

8 July 10:00-12:00

12 July 10:00-12:00

Macao – China

13 July 10:00-12:00

14 July 10:00-12:00

15 July 10:00-12:00

The above dialogues will be held in the ground floor conference room, Palais Wilson, Geneva, and livecast on UN Web TV

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.