Wollondilly 2023 Australia Day Winners Announced

Wollondilly Council

Wollondilly’s Australia Day Award winners were announced at Thursday’s ceremony as part of the traditional celebrations in the Picton Botanic Gardens.

This year there were joint winners for the Wollondilly Citizen of the year – Peter Fenning and Mark Scambary.

Mayor Matt Gould said, “I would like to congratulate and thank all this year’s nominees and winners for the amazing work they do in communities across the Shire.”

“In particular I would like to congratulate our joint winners of Citizen of the year, Peter and Mark for all the work they have done in both a professional and volunteer capacity, and in particular for their commitment to the young people of Wollondilly.”

“Both of these men are incredibly deserving winners and well respected and loved members of their communities who have been able to build positive and inclusive relationships with people of all ages.”

Peter is a well-known and respected community member in the village of Buxton, where he has been a member for the Buxton Rural Fire Brigade for the past 40 years.

Throughout his time with the RFS, Peter has been a vocal advocate for an inclusive brigade, welcoming new members of all ages, ability, ethnicity and gender.

Peter’s experience and qualifications have contributed immensely to the RFS community, where he has had the opportunity to impart his knowledge to local brigades as both an instructor and assessor. During Peter’s time with the RFS, he has been awarded a number of medals for his services.

Mark served as a Police Officer in the Wollondilly/Camden area from 1993 until his retirement in 2022. During this period Mark demonstrated unwavering commitment to local young people.

Through his community-focused policing, he built positive relationships with many individuals and organisations.

While working as the Youth Liaison Officer, Mark also volunteered his time working with young people, especially those who are disadvantaged, providing them with safe and supervised activities to engage in while developing positive relationships with police and a sense of belonging.

Other category winners for 2023 are:

  • Disability Inclusion Award – Wollondilly Community Men’s Shed (WOLCOMs) encompassing six Men’s Sheds throughout Wollondilly.
  • Local Hero, Community Group – The Bargo Book Group
  • Local Hero, Individual – Patrick Nellestein
  • Sportsperson of the Year – Gaye Wardle
  • Achiever of the Year – Libby Berg
  • Environmental Citizen of the Year – Inga Schwaiger
  • Young Citizen of the Year – Joshua Azzopardi

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.