Wyndham Art Prize 2021 Finalists Announced

The finalists for Wyndham’s most prestigious art prize have been chosen.

Now in its seventh year, the Wyndham Art Prize attracts entries from some of the best artists across Australia and offers a chance for local and emerging artists to exhibit alongside them.

This year, a record number of more than 200 artists entered the prize.

In 2021 the Wyndham Art Prize will include works from 19 local Wyndham artists who have made it to the finalist pool.

Creative City Portfolio Holder, Cr Marcel Mahfoud, said the prolific art prize was a must-see in Wyndham’s art calendar and encouraged residents to attend.

“The Wyndham Art Prize is expected to be open to the public this year and People’s Choice entries will be available in the gallery and online,” Cr Mahfoud said.

“As part of the prize, Wyndham City are offering a $12,000 non-acquisitive prize and a $5,000 acquisitive Local Emerging Art Prize and the $2,500 People’s Choice Award will be sponsored by Arts Assist this year.”

“In 2021, Council are also offering a new prize TREAT, as a commission for an artist to work within the Wyndham Community and with the research initiative, the Public Art Commission, from Deakin University.”

“Creative events like the Wyndham Art Prize influence our experience in our community, our cultural vibrancy and the resilience and growth of our local economy.”

“Wyndham City values the integral role of arts and creative industries as fundamental to our City’s future and our liveability.”

Congratulations to this year’s finalists:

Nicholas Aloisio-Shearer, Fae Ballingall, Elaine Batton, Ashlee Becks, Tanya Beehre, Lynn Berry & Margaret Knight, Peter Burke, Fiona Cabassi, Ann Capling, Yu Fang Chi, Glen Clarke, Muthi.Tidda, Madison Connors, Sal Cooper, Jenna Corcoran, Payel Dasgupta, Yask Desai, Emily Dober, Alice Duncan, Merrin Eirth, Pony Express (Ian Sinclair and Loren Kronemyer), Liss Fenwick, Sai-Wai Foo, Katherine Gailer (AKA Katira), maddison gibbs, Brad Gunn, Safak Gurboga, Anni Hagberg, Aisha Hara, Gail Harradine, Sammy Hawker, Angela Hickey, Chris Humphries, Suresh Jeanel, Tracey Jones, Ayman Kaake, Duain Kelaart, Dominika Keller, Marketa Kemp, Soyoun Kim, Zai Kuang, Jo Lane, Julee Latimer, Ryan Andrew Lee, Janet Leith, Xiang Li, Cally Lotz, Kera Lukies, Catherine Mackay, Jasmine Mansbridge, Bethany Mansfield, John Mashar, Donna Marcus, John Mathet, Cathy Yarwood-Mahy, Liza McCosh, Kirsty McIntyre, Amy Meng, Nunzio Miano, Eva Nolan, brenda page, Raj Panda, Kirsten Perry, Mu Naw Poe, Shirley Ploog, Lorna Quinn, Jack Danger, Jaymi Rowarth, Carol Rowlands, Natalie Ryan, Pip Ryan, Johny Salama, Arun Kumar Sharma, Lily Soga, Linda Sok, Paul Snell, Shuklay Tahpo, Jill Velinos, Danny Lee, Simon Welsh, Sally West, Timothy White, Gideon Wilonja.

Winners of the Prize, the Local Emerging Art Prize, and TREAT will be announced at the opening on 13 May, and voting for the People’s Choice Award will run from 13 May until 27 June with an announcement in July.

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.