2020 Elliott Award presented to Megan Sullivan at Mildura

2020 Elliott Award Megan Sullivan.jpg

Popular and long-serving music teacher, pianist, instrumentalist, musical director and conductor Megan Sullivan is the Mildura Arts and Culture Advisory Committee’s 2020 Elliott Award recipient.

The prestigious award is the Sunraysia region’s highest accolade for achievement and contribution to arts and culture and was presented to Megan yesterday at an intimate event in front of close family and friends.

Megan, or ‘Meg’ as she’s fondly know by her many students and fellow artists, has selflessly dedicated her time and talents to the arts in Sunraysia for more than four decades, making an outstanding contribution to music and the performing arts in the region.

After arriving in the district with her family in 1977, Megan quickly became an integral part of the arts community in Sunraysia teaching piano and Theory of Music privately as well as in schools.

Along the way she immersed herself in the local arts community by becoming involved with many performing arts organisations as an accompanist, performer, musical director and mentor.

Megan is credited with being a major influence in the creation of countless successful local performing arts groups in the district as well as dedicating many years to the Mildura Eisteddfod as a teacher, accompanist and volunteer.

As a result, Megan has played an influential role in the development of numerous local artists, leading to several of her students going on to make successful careers from music locally and on the world stage.

Megan’s passion for music and performing arts saw her contribute to a government inquiry into the extent, benefits and potential of music education in Victorian schools in 2013, with a focus on district schools.

Described as “steadfast and very generous with her time in providing students with as much experience in performing as possible”, and praised for her “generosity of spirit and enthusiasm for the arts”, Megan has frequently collaborated with other music professionals to achieve the best possible outcomes for her students.

Mildura Arts and Culture Advisory Committee Chair Don Mayne congratulated and thanked Megan for her contribution.

“There would literally be hundreds, if not thousands of people who have benefited from Megan’s outstanding dedication, talents and passion for music and the performing arts in our community,” Mr Mayne said.

“She has been a major contributor to making the thriving performing arts and music community in Sunraysia what it is today and that is a legacy that will stay with our region for many years to come.

“The Elliott Award is about recognising outstanding contribution to the arts, particularly where that contribution hasn’t been formally acknowledged, and Megan’s talents and contributions certainly fit this description.”

The 2020 Elliott Award presentation was delayed to this month due to the impacts of COVID-19 over the past 12 months.

About the Elliott Award

The Elliott Award began in 2006, founded by the Mildura Arts and Culture Board and in 2014 the Mildura Arts and Culture Advisory Committee committed to continuing the legacy of acknowledging the passion and commitment to arts and culture within our community by those whose dedication and contributions may otherwise go unnoticed.

The Elliott Award has previously been awarded to Des Tobin (2006), Tom McCullough (2007), Vaughan Stirrat (2008), Neil Noyce (2009), Mollie Kalms (2010), Shirley Bowie (2011), Neil Fettling (2012) Kay Sylvester (2013), Peta‑Lynne Buchanan and Janine Kerr (2014), Leonard (Len) Krause (2015), Yvonne Hedley (2016), Henry Tankard (2017), Mavis Francis (2018) and David Searle in 2019.

/Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization/author(s)and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.