2021 Australia Day Award nominees named

Corangamite Shire Australia Day Award nominees named

Eleven Corangamite Shire residents and one event have been nominated for Australia Day Awards in appreciation of their contributions to the community.

The Citizen of the Year and Community Event of the Year will be named at the official council Australia Day festivities at the Port Campbell Recreation Reserve on Tuesday 26 January.

The COVID Safe event is expected to be open to the public, subject to the latest government advice, but residents are encouraged to watch the livestream via Council’s Facebook page.

Mayor Ruth Gstrein said the nominees were great examples of community spirit and had earned the respect of their fellow Shire residents.

“Being put forward for these awards shows that their efforts are truly appreciated.

“Our volunteers put in many, many hours of hard work for the benefit of our towns and rural communities, often for no reward except the knowledge they have improved the lives of their friends and neighbours. These awards are a great way to recognise their efforts and thank them for their commitment.

“Unfortunately, due to COVID-19, many of our youth activities around the Shire could not take place in 2020. As a result, we will not have a Young Citizen award this year. Council is committed to supporting the young people of the Shire and we look forward to recognising a Young Citizen of the Year next Australia Day.

“Australia Day is a great opportunity to recognise that wherever we’re from—Indigenous Australians, descendants of early European settlers, and newer Australians—we are all part of the same nation and share common values.”

Starting at 10 am, the day will include a presentation by local resident Amanda Nash.

A Community Health Nurse with Timboon and District Heathcare Service, Ms Nash has also done life-saving work fighting cancer as a volunteer in developing nations.

Cr Gstrein said she was looking forward to hearing from Ms Nash.

“Amanda is an inspiration, whether it’s in her incredible contributions to the wellbeing of our community, or her work overseas. She has volunteered overseas in developing countries promoting women’s health and the cervical cancer vaccine.

Ms Nash said she was flattered and humbled by the invitation to be the Shire’s Australia Day Ambassador.

“This is a chance for our community to reflect on how they have supported one another over the last 12 months. The inner strength and newfound resilience to push through the hard times and successfully come through the other side.

“There is strong evidence to show that being grateful and / or showing gratitude every day leads to increased happiness. Being grateful for the small things, even when things get tough.

“And yes, it has been a tough year for most. I am grateful for strong leadership, my family, my community and the amazing coastline around Port Campbell that I am so fortunate to be able to appreciate every single day. I can’t think of anywhere else I’d rather live.”

And the nominees are:

Citizen of the Year

  • Elizabeth Bowden – Terang
  • Margaret Clark – Skipton
  • Peter Conheady – Camperdown
  • Kate Daffy – Cobden
  • Malcolm Fletcher – Skipton
  • Ron (Ronnie) Holmes – Terang
  • John Kavanagh – Skipton
  • Peter McSween – Noorat
  • John Maher – Camperdown
  • Enid O’Connor – Timboon
  • Craig Walker – Skipton


  • Terang RSL Sub-Branch tram restoration launch

/Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.