2022 QLD Gold Medal Award


Prominent Queensland businessman Jerry Maycock FAICD has been announced as the winner of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (AICD) 2022 Queensland Gold Medal Award.

With 40 years in business leadership roles, the award recognises Mr Maycock for his significant contribution to Queensland corporate and community life. Currently he is chair of Transgrid and has been a director of leading children’s education charity The Smith Family since 2013.

Mr Maycock began his career with Shell Oil in the UK and went on to hold a number of senior management positions in Australia, New Zealand and Asia, principally with Swiss multinational Holcim. During this 20-year period he was also director, vice chairman and chairman of various listed and unlisted subsidiaries throughout Australasia.

The last of his senior management roles was CSR Managing Director and CEO and he has since continued to work as a professional non-executive director, using his expertise and international experience in governance, operational management and corporate leadership.

Mr Maycock’s long and distinguished record of directorships includes Nuplex, chair of both AGL Energy and Arrium, and he was also chair of the Port of Brisbane for more than a decade.

Acting QLD State Manager Ben Hanslip said the contribution Mr Maycock has made to the business, corporate and director community over many years is immeasurable.

“Jerry was a valued member of the AICD Corporate Governance Committee and Chairman’s Forum for six years, and he continues to pass on his considerable knowledge and expertise mentoring the next generation of CEOs.”

Mr Maycock said he was honoured to receive this recognition from his peers and looked forward to continuing to work for the benefit of Queensland’s corporate and wider community.

Download the media release here

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.