4 expert ACMD board members reappointed

The ACMD is an independent advisory body that provides guidance and advice to the government on issues concerning public health and drugs.

The individuals reappointed are:

  • Dr Kostas Agath, Consultant Psychiatrist (Addictions), Change Grow Live Southwark
  • Dr Emily Finch, Clinical Director of the Addictions Clinical Academic Group and a Consultant Psychiatrist at South London and Maudsley NHS Trust
  • Professor Tim Millar, Professor of Substance Use and Addiction Research Strategy Lead at University of Manchester
  • Mr Rob Phipps, Retired Head of Health Development Policy Branch, Department of Health, Social Services and Public Safety (Northern Ireland)

Professor Owen Bowden-Jones, Chair of the ACMD, said:

I am delighted that all four appointees have agreed to serve a third term on the ACMD. I am incredibly grateful to them for sharing their time and expertise as ACMD members to inform government on the important issues we face regarding drugs harms.

These individuals have expertise in psychiatry, research, social care, epidemiology, education and policy and their insights in these areas ensures that ACMD reports and advice are well-rounded and evidence-based.

Board members of the ACMD serve three-year terms. All of these individuals were initially appointed in 2014, and had their reappointments confirmed in November last year.

/Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.