460 Squadron recognises extraordinary legacy

The 9th anniversary dinner of the reformation of No. 460 Squadron was recently held under the “G for George” Avro Lancaster Bomber at the Australian War Memorial in recognition of the Squadron’s extraordinary legacy.

The Air Warfare Centre’s target intelligence unit was first formed as a heavy bomber squadron during World War II on November 15, 1941 and disbanded on 10 October 1945 after seeing extensive combat over Europe. The Squadron was reformed on 2 July 2010 and is currently located in Canberra.
Commanding Officer, Wing Commander Andrew Hoffmann said the dinner presented an opportunity to reflect upon the legacy of the original members – squadron members like Laurie Woods and Doug Arrowsmith.
“They have given us a reputation to live up to, and the standard to which we hold ourselves accountable,” WGCDR Hoffmann said.
“Today’s squadron is very different to the squadron that Laurie and Doug served in, but the legacy of the WWII generation lives on.
“I have had the privilege of commanding the squadron for six months now. I am very proud of the work that the team is doing and how they go about doing it.
“This is truly a wonderful evening as we enjoy the freedoms that our forebears fought so hard to protect.”
Two awards were presented on the night, CPL Bryce Attwood received the 460SQN Veterans and Friends Award for process innovation, documentation of processes and analytic tradecraft.
CPL Cameron McQuillan received the 460SQN Air Commodore Sir Hughie Edwards VC Leadership Award for making a lasting and significant impact on the squadron’s mission through mentoring, coaching and leadership.
CPL McQuillan said it’s a real honour to be recipient of this award.
“The Squadron has developed its capability significantly over the past year and to be part of the changes and development has been a highlight.”
The 176 guest list included, past and present 460SQN members, Veterans families, friends, 460SQN veterans Laurie Woods, AM DFC Ld’H, Doug Arrowsmith, DFC OAM Ld’H, Air Commodore (retired) Rick Keir, AM CSC, AWC Director Information Warfare Directorate GPCAPT Pete Mitchell, Australian Geospatial-Intelligence Organisation (AGO) Acting Director Chris Hewett, former 460SQN COs GPCAPT Rob Elliot, GPCAPT Nathan Klohs and GPCAPT Cal Harrison.
/Public Release. View in full here.