ABC’s Stateless leads AACTA Award nominations

ABC drama Stateless leads the list of nominees for this year’s AACTA Awards, the nation’s top screen entertainment prizes.

The powerful six-part series – co-created by Cate Blanchett, Tony Ayres and Elsie McCredie – is in the running for 18 television screen awards, followed closely by 14 nominations for ABC Indigenous drama Mystery Road; which has received a record number of AACTA Award nominations over the past decade.

ABC programs and people received more than 80 AACTA Award nominations in total across over 30 categories – eclipsing other broadcasters. The ABC celebrated a clean sweep of the six Best Children’s Program Award nominations – including for multiple finalists Bluey and First Day. The ABC also scored three Best Comedy Series nominations for Black Comedy, Rosehaven and At Home Alone Together.

Michael Carrington, ABC Director of Entertainment & Specialist, said the ABC was proud to be recognised across multiple genres. “After a challenging year of disruption and disconnection, the ABC has played a critical role in bringing people together to enjoy outstanding Australian talent. This is not the new normal. It has been the practice of the ABC for the past 88 years,” he said.

“The ABC is proud to be the creative voice of Australia. Congratulations to all our AACTA Award-nominated programs, people and partners for this recognition.”

ABC programs in the running for multiple AACTA Awards include drama Operation Buffalo, comedy Rosehaven and documentaries Revelation, Maralinga Tjarutja, Love On The Spectrum, Firestarter – The Story of Bangarra and Australia’s Ocean Odyssey: A Journey Down The East Australian Current.

The full list of nominees is available here. Winners will be announced on 6 December.

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.