Additional Kimberley schools join initiative to encourage attendance

  • Investment to support students and improve educational outcomes in the Kimberley
  • Nine new schools announced to join project in 2019, bringing total participating schools to 19

Nine of Western Australia’s rural and remote schools – some in the most isolated areas of the State – have joined an initiative that motivates children to regularly attend school and advance the progress of Aboriginal students.

The Kimberley Schools Project focuses on targeted teaching to students’ specific needs in literacy and numeracy, providing improved learning and care in the early years, strengthening regular attendance, and increasing student and community engagement.

The first 10 schools to be involved were announced earlier this year.

The program sees expert staff, who are based in Broome, visit schools to provide advice to teachers and principals and work with them one-on-one. Curriculum materials have also been developed.

The project is a collaboration between the Department of Education, Catholic Education Western Australia, Association of Independent Schools Western Australia and the Department of Primary Industries and Regional Development.

As stated by Education and Training Minister Sue Ellery:

“The Kimberley Schools Project continues to support principals and teachers in the Kimberley with specialised resources, coaching and professional learning, specifically tailored to meet the needs of students in the area.

“I’m so pleased a further nine schools will join the 10 already involved in this initiative. These schools will receive regular advice from experienced and highly skilled staff who understand the unique Kimberley context.

“Parents and communities are also supported to work with their schools, giving children the best possible chance to succeed at school.”

As stated by Regional Development Minister Alannah MacTiernan:

“We are already seeing tangible benefits on the ground from the Kimberley Schools Project; teachers are reporting real gains in students’ literacy skills and enthusiasm for school.

“The expansion of the program will bring this explicit instruction approach to a further nine schools in the region, spreading the benefits widely across the Kimberley – especially important because many students are transient.

“This program puts us in a good position to drive long-term generational change in the region.”

The nine schools joining the Kimberley Schools Project in Term 1, 2019 are:

  • Broome Primary School (Public School);
  • Broome North Primary School (Public School);
  • Halls Creek District High School (Public School);
  • Kununurra District High School (Public School);
  • Muludja Remote Community School (Public School);
  • Ngalapita Remote Community School (Public School);
  • Roebuck Primary School (Public School);
  • Wananami Remote Community School (Public School); and
  • Warlawurru Catholic School (Catholic School).

The first 10 schools participating in the Kimberley Schools Project in 2018 are:

  • Bayulu Remote Community School (Public School);
  • Dawul Remote Community School (Public School);
  • Derby District High School (Public School);
  • Djugerari Remote Community School (Public School);
  • Kalumburu Remote Community School (Public School);
  • Looma Remote Community School (Public School);
  • La Grange Remote Community School (Public School);
  • Nyikina Mangala Community School (Independent School);
  • Wangkatjungka Remote Community School (Public School); and
  • Wyndham District High School (Public School).

/Public Release.View in full here.