Advisory body to help shape a future free from violence against women

The Morrison Government has established a National Plan Advisory Group which will inform the development of the National Plan to end family, domestic and sexual violence in Australia.

The 19-member multidisciplinary Advisory Group attended today’s virtual meeting of the Women’s Safety Taskforce where the Commonwealth, states and territories discussed the work of each jurisdiction in progressing our shared goal to end violence against women and their children.

Minister for Foreign Affairs and Minister for Women, Senator the Hon Marise Payne said the Advisory Group members represent a range of groups in the Australian community, including culturally and linguistically diverse communities, Indigenous communities, LGBTQIA+ communities, children and younger people, and people with disability.

“The diverse backgrounds and expertise of the Advisory Group members will ensure we are drawing on wide-ranging ideas and bringing Australians with us as we build the next National Plan,” Minister Payne said.

“Contributions from the Advisory Group will be captured in a consultation report, which will also help to identify opportunities for development of the next National Plan.”

Minister for Families and Social Services and Minister for Women’s Safety Anne Ruston said the Advisory Group members discussed their strong support for evidence, data and clear monitoring for all items in the next National Plan.

“This will ensure were can thoroughly assess and track our long term target to ending violence against women and their children,” Minister Ruston said.

“The Advisory Group’s broad representation, including the corporate sector, also recognises that the whole community has a role to play in preventing and responding to domestic and family violence.”

The Advisory Group will work alongside the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Advisory Council to ensure relevant Closing the Gap targets are embedded in the next National Plan.

All Australians can share their views via an online questionnaire, available at until 31 July 2021.

National Plan Advisory Group members

Alison Frame, Co-chairDeputy Secretary, Office for Women, Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet
Liz Hefren-Webb, Co-chairDeputy Secretary, Department of Social Services
Gulnara AbbasovaExecutive Officer, Harmony Alliance
Karen BentleyContract Manager, Australian Women Against Violence Alliance
Sandra CreamerChief Executive Officer, National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Women’s Alliance
Catherine FitzpatrickDirector, Customer Vulnerability and Financial Resilience, Westpac Bank
Hayley FosterFormer Chief Executive Officer, Women’s Safety NSW
Carolyn FrohmaderExecutive Director, Women with Disabilities Australia
The Hon Pru GowardFormer Sex Discrimination Commissioner
Anne HollondsNational Children’s Commissioner
Patty KinnerslyChief Executive Officer, Our Watch
Eloise LayardProgram Coordinator, ACON
Donnella MillsChair, National Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisation
Michele RobinsonDirector, Australia’s National Research Organisation for Women’s Safety (attending on behalf of incoming CEO, Padma Raman)
Dr Michael SalterAssociate Professor, UNSW
Joanne Sheehan-PatersonChair, National Association of Services against Sexual Violence
Jodie SloanActing Chief Executive Officer, Women’s Safety Services SA
The Hon Dale WakefieldFormer Minister for Territory Families, Northern Territory
Jacqui WattChief Executive Officer, No to Violence

/Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.