An emotional community event to re-open the Tallarook Mechanics Institute Hall was held almost three years to the day that the original structure was tragically destroyed by fire.
A bold new facade for the Tallarook Mechanics Institute was unveiled as part of the opening, attended by a wide range of community members, businesses and special guests.
Originally opened in 1891, the hall had been a community hub for nearly 130 years with many activities, special events and functions held across generations.
The new facade uses key design features of the old hall shape and style with a modern twist. This blend of old and new will continue throughout the hall with a contemporary look that honours the hall’s history and adds more flexibility to the use of the hall space.
The hall is owned by Mitchell Shire Council and managed by the Tallarook Mechanics Institute Committee of Management under a Funding and Service Agreement.
Council has worked in close partnership with the Committee of Management and the wider community during the rebuild.
The hall was rebuilt through Council’s insurers who engaged Zen Architects and Bay Builders. The committee and community members also assisted with significant in-kind supports and volunteer hours.
A $200,000 Victorian Government grant was secured by Attorney General of Victoria, Minister for Resources and Member for Northern Victoria Jaclyn Symes MP to assist with items such as design, contents, landscaping and equipment replacement.