Australia day Award nominees announced

Selfless volunteers are the focus of the 2019 Griffith Australia Day Awards, covering health, charities and events within the Griffith community.

Chairperson of the Australia Day Working Party Councillor Christine Stead said she is pleased to see some outstanding nominations received.

“Griffith is very lucky to have people who selflessly give up their time to assist others and help make our community a better place to live,” said Councillor Stead.

“We also have a wonderful pool of sporting talent and dedicated club persons who deserve to be acknowledged.

“We are extremely pleased with the quality of nominees, however would love to see more young people recognised.”

Councillor Stead said the Australia Day Awards continue to be a fantastic way to pay tribute to and acknowledge the hard work and dedication of our volunteers and sporting stars.

“I congratulate all of our nominees and wish them the best of luck. They should all be extremely proud of their achievements”, she said

“We invite the community to come along to our presentation ceremony on Sunday 26 January, 2020 and help us congratulate our nominees and winners.”

The nominations for 2019 are:

Citizen of the Year

Cheryl Wood

Angelo Maloni

Margaret Moore

Margaret King

Young Citizen

Cadet Corporal Imreet Singh

Andria Zanotto

Junior Citizen

Johan Martinello

Environmental Citizen of the Year

Hampers of Hope

Community Project of the Year

Hampers of Hope

Griffith Historic Motor Club Inc and MIA Veteran Vintage & Classic Car Club Inc

Club Person of the Year

Richard (Dick) Hore

Leigh-Anne Johnson

Lorraine Maxwell

Gail Roslyn Colling

Anthony Salmon

Sportsperson of the Year

Jennifer Massey

Abby Josephine Favell –

Eliza Baddock

Young Sportsperson of the Year

Abby Josephine Favell

Jess Conlan

Timeeka Coleman

Wyatt Carter

Kai Suine

Sports Team of the Year

Griffith East Public School – Australian Rules Team

Murrumbidgee Regional High School Under 16 Rugby Union Team

Griffith North Boys Basketball

The winner of each category will be announced at the official ceremony which commences at 10am on Sunday, 26 January, 2019 at Woodside Hall, Griffith Showgrounds.

/Public Release. View in full here.