Board appointed to new Campaspe Port Enterprise

Port Precinct

Campaspe Shire Council has today announced the appointment of six Directors, including Chairperson, to the Campaspe Port Enterprise Pty Ltd Board.

Mayor, Cr Chrissy Weller said the appointments follow a recruitment process which attracted a strong response, with short-listed candidates interviewed by a panel, with recommendations reported to Council, and now approved. The Beneficial Enterprise model was selected as the preferred management model after an extensive review of options available across the past few years.

“The model is an “arm’s length from Council” approach whereby the skills based Board of Directors undertakes management of Council activities within the Port of Echuca Precinct, with fully delegated Council responsibilities, but remaining accountable to Council,” Cr Weller said.

The Directors bring a range of skills to the Board, working across many business sectors, including board experience at international, national and state levels.

Board Directors are:

  • Joanne Butterworth-Gray (Chairperson)
  • Suzana Bishop
  • Jim Cosgriff
  • Dr Jacqueline Jennings
  • Craig Opie, OAM
  • Andrew Paxton

With the Board now in place, their first task will be the appointment of a General Manager.

Transition of business activities across to the Campaspe Port Enterprise, including the Echuca Wharf, Discovery Centre and Paddlesteamers and other tourism-related activities, is expected to be completed by 1 July 2022.

Campaspe Port Enterprise Board(PDF, 205KB)

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.