Brimbank Council election results confirmed

The names of 11 community members elected to the Brimbank City Council have been announced, after the Victorian Electoral Commission (VEC) declared the results of the 2020 Local Government elections today (6 November 2020.)

The following councillors-elect will represent the City of Brimbank over the next four years:

Grasslands Ward

  • Victoria Borg (returning)
  • Sarah Branton
  • Thuy Dang

Harvester Ward

  • Jasmine Nguyen
  • Sam David (returning)
  • Trung Luu

Horseshoe Bend Ward

  • Virginia Tachos (returning)
  • Jae Papalia

Taylors Ward

  • Ranka Rasic
  • Bruce Lancashire (returning)
  • Maria Kerr

Four of the 11 councillors were part of the previous council, and there are eight female and three male councillors. The 11 councillors-elect have been voted in by the community from a pool of 55 candidates.

Brimbank City Council CEO Helen Morrissey extended congratulations to the new councillors.

“It is both an honour and a tremendous responsibility to be voted to represent the best interests of a city of 208,000 people.

“As Chief Executive Officer, it will be my pleasure to work with the new Council this term, as supported by the Executive Management Team, Council attempts to both lead and represent the City of Brimbank in the best possible way.

“Together we can build a better Brimbank, a vibrant, harmonious and welcoming city that is a great place to live, work and grow – a Brimbank that is transforming to become the powerhouse of Melbourne’s West.”

The Councillors-elect will be officially sworn in on Tuesday 10 November at 4.30pm and the Mayoral election will be held on Tuesday 17 November at 7pm. Both meetings will be live streamed.

/Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.