Caring for our diverse community

People hailing from across the globe are helping to shape the future of Latrobe City Council.

Latrobe City is one of the most culturally diverse municipalities in Gippsland. The 2016 Census indicated that 9094 Latrobe residents were born overseas, hailing from Europe, the Middle East, Africa, Asia and the Americas.

More than six per cent of people speak a language other than English at home and the newcomers have a diversity of religions, including Christianity, Buddhism, Hinduism and Islam.

Council’s Latrobe City Cultural Diversity Advisory Committee has been operating for 15 years, advising Council about how to best serve the needs of residents who hail from countries other than Australia.

The Committee also oversees the Latrobe City Cultural Diversity Action Plan 2020-2024 and promotes cultural diversity within the City.

“With people from so many countries now calling Latrobe City home, it’s vital that Council has a committee of knowledgeable people who are able to advise Council on ways to ensure that our services and information are readily accessible and relevant to our diverse communities,” Latrobe City Council Mayor Cr Dan Clancey said.

Council recently appointed new members to the Committee. They represent organisations that service the City’s culturally diverse communities, and social groups, ethnic associations or agencies that support culturally diverse communities.

The new members are:

  • Tania Ryan, CEO of Gippsland Multicultural Service
  • Dr Christine Lee, Chairperson of Gippsland Ethnic Communities Council
  • Farhat Firdous, representing Latrobe Community Health Service
  • Jenny Horner of the Centre for Multicultural Youth
  • Mario Sammut OAM, representing Maltese Community Centre Latrobe Valley Inc.
  • Aameruddin (Aamer) Khan Mohammed of Gippsland Australian Muslim Community Inc.
  • Arfa Khan, representing United Muslim Sisters of Latrobe Valley
  • Community members Vivian Yong, Marilou Ortega, Bosede Adetifa and Anna Fascio.

Cr Clancey and Cr Darrell White are the Committee Co-chairs.

/Public Release. The material in this public release comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.