Commonwealth Grants Commission appointments

Australian Treasury

The Albanese Government has today appointed Professor Anne Tiernan and Dr Angela Jackson as part‑time members of the Commonwealth Grants Commission, each for a five‑year period.

The Commission is an independent authority that provides advice to the Government on how revenue from the goods and services tax should be distributed to the states and territories to ensure equitable access to services.

Professor Tiernan is the Managing Director of Constellation Impact Advisory and an Adjunct Professor of Politics at Griffith University. Her scholarly interests include Australian politics and governance, policy capacity, federalism and intergovernmental coordination. Professor Tiernan has previously worked as Assistant Commissioner (Collaboration) at the Queensland Public Service Commission and also served as Chair of the Queensland Independent Remuneration Tribunal and Ordinary Commissioner of the Crime and Corruption Commission.

Dr Jackson is the Lead Economist at Impact Economics and Policy. She is a health economist, with expertise in disability, inequality, gender and fiscal policy. Dr Jackson is also a board member of Gender Equity Victoria and the National Deputy Chair of the Women in Economics Network. She has previously worked for Equity Economics and as an adviser to the Minister for Finance and Deregulation.

Professor Tiernan and Dr Jackson join Chairperson, Mr Michael Callaghan AM PSM, and member Dr Lynne Williams AM on the Commission.

These appointments will maintain the high level of skill and experience available to the Commission and ensure it continues to provide quality advice to the Government on the distribution of revenue from the goods and services tax.

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.