Disaster Assistance For South Australians After Severe Storms And Flooding

Minister for Emergency Management and National Recovery and Resilience, Minister for Regionalisation, Regional Communications and Regional Education

Senator The Hon Bridget Mckenzie

Minister For Emergency Management And National Recovery And Resilience

The Hon David Basham MP

South Australian Minister For Primary Industries And Regional Development

Disaster assistance is now available in 24 council areas in South Australia following severe storms on Thursday 28 October 2021.

Assistance is being provided through the jointly funded Commonwealth-State Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA).

Minister for Emergency Management and National Recovery and Resilience, Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie said lightning, heavy rainfall, severe winds and golf-ball-sized hail caused significant damage and disruption to communities across the state.

“South Australians were heavily impacted by localised flash flooding and widespread power outages. There have also been significant volumes of debris from the storm that have left many in an incredibly difficult position,” Minister McKenzie said.

“This disaster assistance will provide a range of practical measures, including debris removal from properties and access to personal and financial counselling, to help impacted individuals get back on their feet as soon as possible.”

South Australian Minister for Primary Industries and Regional Development, the Hon David Basham said the event required a significant response from the SA State Emergency Services, which received 1,338 calls over a 24-hour period.

“In addition to supporting community members, the assistance being announced today will also help local councils cover the costs of the extensive clean-up and the restoration of essential public assets, including roads,” Minister Basham said.

“Early indications are that the storm damage will be more than $350 million which is why we are moving as quickly as possible.

“This disaster assistance will be an important contribution to South Australia’s recovery as we rebuild and get back on track.”

Disaster assistance is available in the council areas of Adelaide Hills, Adelaide Plains, Barossa, Barunga West, Berri Barmera, Clare and Gilbert Valleys, Cleve, Coorong, Elliston, Gawler, Karoonda East Murray, Light, Loxton Waikerie, Mid Murray, Mount Barker, Murray Bridge, Playford, Port Pirie, Renmark Paringa, Salisbury, Tea Tree Gully, Tumby Bay, Wakefield and Yorke Peninsula.

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.