Ellen Jose Reconciliation Awards winners

Congratulations to the four young winners who were awarded their prizes by Dr Joseph Toscano of the Ellen Jose Memorial Foundation and Cr Clarke Martin, Bayside Mayor yesterday to mark the start of Reconciliation Week.

Now in their second year, the Ellen Jose Awards encourage Bayside primary and secondary school students to consider “What Reconciliation means through their eyes” in an artwork or piece of writing.

Congratulations to this year’s winners and finalists:

Prep – 3

Johnny Kelly – Black Rock Primary School

Darcy Hopkins – Sandringham East Primary School

Sofia Emilson – Brighton Primary School

Alice Jones – Xavier College, Kostka Hall

Grade 4 – 6

Jules Harris-Ure – Black Rock Primary School

Elizabeth Dennis – Mentone Girls Grammar

Pierce Lowrey – Beaumaris Primary School

Freya Cullum – Hampton Primary School

Baxter Kelly – Black Rock Primary School

Year 7 – 10

Flynn Megahan – Brighton Secondary College

Louie Harris-Ure – St Leonard’s College

Lucy Knighton – Beaumaris Secondary College

Natalie Hordejuk – Beaumaris Secondary College

Alice Robinson – Star of the Sea College

Year 11 – 12

Charlotte Holland – Mentone Grammar School

Arthur Deasley – Beaumaris Secondary College

Gabrielle Orr – Heatherton Christian College

We celebrate Reconciliation Week in Bayside to recognise its importance to all Australians.

Our Bayside Reconciliation Action Plan outlines specific actions we are taking on our journey towards reconciliation, working together to build stronger relationships between the broader Bayside community and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.

/Public Release. View in full here.