Football Federation Australia to honour Australian football heritage

Football Federation Australia (FFA) today announced the establishment of a Football Heritage Committee to help preserve and celebrate Australian football history.

FFA Chairman Chris Nikou said placing greater significance on recognising football’s rich history was one of the key priorities of the new Board of Directors.

“It is time to preserve and honour Australian football’s heritage and those associated with it. I am pleased that we will be able to dedicate the resources towards promoting football’s valuable cultural, social, economic and historical significance.”

FFA Director Remo Nogarotto, who will lead the Committee said: “In the past, we have relied on passionate individuals to document our history, to collect memorabilia, to showcase our history and it’s now time to bring all of this together in a co-ordinated way for the entire community to enjoy.”

“We would also like to recognise those who have played a significant part in our game by introducing annual awards and ultimately, it is our long-term ambition to establish an Australian Football Museum,” he said.

The Committee will comprise invited members of the football community, who have expressed an interest in dedicating time to better acknowledge Australian football’s history, including Fox Sports commentators Simon Hill and Andy Harper, publisher Bonita Mersiades, former Matilda Heather Garriock, former Socceroo Peter Katholos, Trevor Thompson as well as Jamie Warren, Chairman of the Johnny Warren Football Foundation.

Simon Hill said he was pleased that football in Australia would now channel the energy into this important project for the sport.

“It’s time to recognise and reconcile the past. To pay our due respects to a game that, despite the popular narrative, is 160 years old in Australia. We must celebrate our greats and our history, good and bad. Because a sport that forgets its past has no future,” he said.

The work of the Football Heritage Committee will be supported by a panel of experts to form a History sub-committee to ensure Australian football’s historical milestones are recognised and celebrated. The panel includes Dr Roy Hay and Dr Ian Syson of Melbourne, Andrew Howe of Adelaide, Peter Kunz of Canberra, Garry McKenzie of the Gold Coast and Trevor Thompson of Sydney.

Get Onside Limitless banner

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.