Lions claim victory in First Grade Premier League T20

Celebrations rang out from Blundstone Arena when the University of Tasmania Cricket Club’s Lions defeated Lindisfarne to win the Tasmanian Premier League First Grade T20 competition grand final.

Lindisfarne won the toss and elected to bowl, but they can’t have been counting on the Lions getting off to a blistering start and scoring 173 runs, losing just six wickets in the process.

The Lions were then able to restrict Lindisfarne to 7/161.

Lions skipper and former Australian captain Tim Paine earned the player of the match gong after a knock of 63 (43).

Tim Paine
Lions skipper Tim Paine earned the player of the match gong in the 2022/23 First Grade Tasmanian Premier League T20 grand final. Image Solstice Digital.

Paine and Sam Harbinson 41 (34) set up the game with a superb 112-run opening partnership to place the Lions in a position to score 173 runs at the end of their 20 overs.

But it wasn’t just the batsman who performed well, with Andrew Kealy (2 for 19 off 3), Bradley Hope (2 for 30 off 4) and Tim Oakley (2 for 23 off 3) preventing Lindisfarne from gaining too much momentum. Tim Ward proved outstanding in the field taking two catches but the turning point of the game was when he ran out Jarrod Freeman just when the Lions’ opposition was starting to peg back the total.

Hope took the wicket of Lindisfarne opener Keegan Oates early in the run chase and followed up with fellow opener Mac Wright one run later. And though Charlie Wakim (68 not out) put in a sterling effort, he could not get his team over the line.

Lions coach Damien Wright said they knew going into the match that Lindisfarne had only lost one game in the T20 competition and that had been against Uni in round one.

He said the efforts of Paine and Harbinson were pivotal during both the campaign and crucially again during the final.

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.