New appointment to NDIS Independent Advisory Council

Dept of Social Services

The Government has today announced the appointment and reappointment of members of the National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) Independent Advisory Council (IAC).

Minister for the NDIS Bill Shorten said he was pleased to welcome disability advocate Mr Gavin Burner to the IAC. Mr Burner's appointment is significant as it strengthens the IAC's representation of people with intellectual disability.

"Mr Burner is a passionate advocate and inclusion adviser from South Australia, who previously served as a member of the IAC's Intellectual Disability Reference Group," Minister Shorten said.

"I would also like to congratulate current IAC members, Dr Leighton Jay, Dr Sharon Boyce, Mr Mark Tonga, Ms Patricia Malowney OAM and Ms Samantha Paior on their successful reappointments."

The IAC represents the interest of participants on the scheme and advises the NDIA Board on issues impacting participants and their families and carers.

Led by a Principal Member, Ms Leah van Poppel, and up to 12 other members, the IAC brings together highly skilled and dedicated individuals from across the range of disability and advocacy sectors.

This includes members with lived experience of disability, carers of people with disability, and those with expertise in delivering disability services.

Ms van Poppel said she welcomed the new and reappointed members to the IAC.

"These appointments complement an already strong and wise group of IAC members, who are knowledgeable in disability issues across Australia," Ms van Poppel said.

"I look forward to working collaboratively with our members, the NDIA Board and NDIA more broadly to deliver on the IAC's important statutory role."

IAC members serve a term of three years.

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) might be of the point-in-time nature, and edited for clarity, style and length. Mirage.News does not take institutional positions or sides, and all views, positions, and conclusions expressed herein are solely those of the author(s).View in full here.