New look ACT Heritage Council

Australian Greens

Four new members have been appointed to the ACT Heritage Council to help conserve the places and objects that tell our region’s story.

Professor Nicholas Brown, Sarah Jane Brazil, Alison Archer and Caroline Hughes have all been appointed to the council and will begin their term today, 2 March 2021.

“These appointments will see new experience and perspectives brought to the council, which plays an important role providing advice on the conservation of cultural, natural and First Nations heritage places and objects in the ACT,” Minister for Heritage Rebecca Vassarotti said

“Professor Nicholas Brown is history professor at the ANU who brings expertise in urban design and Sarah Jane Brazil is a world heritage expert who brings expertise in architecture.

“Alison Archer is a keen conservationist and a representative for the Canberra community with a particular interest in natural history, while Caroline Hughes is a representative for the First Nations community who is instrumental in bringing Ngunnawal language to the community.

“I welcome our four new appointees to the ACT Heritage Council, and I am looking forward to the council continuing its work to maintain and celebrate Canberra’s rich heritage.

“I congratulate Dr Kenneth Heffernan for being appointed as chairperson of the council and Dr Laura Dawes for her appointment to deputy chairperson. I would also like to thank outgoing council members Amanda Evans and Gary Shipp and in particular David Flannery for his significant contribution as chairperson.”

The ACT Heritage Council is an independent, statutory body responsible for a range of provisions under the Heritage Act 2004 including identifying, assessing, conserving and promoting heritage places and objects, registering heritage places and objects, and providing advice on heritage matters.

/Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.