Prof Jenny May AO Appointed as National Rural Health Commissioner

National Rural Health Alliance

The National Rural Health Alliance (the Alliance) congratulates Professor Jenny May AO, a long-term ally of the Alliance, on her appointment as the National Rural Health Commissioner.

Professor May has worked extensively with the Alliance for many years, including serving as the Alliance Chair from 2008 to 2011 and as a Board member from 2017 to 2018, as well as representing the Rural Doctors Association of Australia in the Alliance Council since 2002.

Having served in various capacities within the rural healthcare sector for several decades, Professor May brings a wealth of experience and a deep passion for rural health equity to her new position. With a distinguished background in multidisciplinary health care and a longstanding commitment to improving health outcomes in rural, regional and remote communities, Professor May is exceptionally well-suited to undertake this critical role.

"We are delighted with the Government's appointment of Professor May to this important role," said Susi Tegen, Chief Executive of the Alliance. "Her deep understanding of rural health issues and the health workforce, and her advocacy for equitable healthcare access make her an ideal candidate".

"Her dedication to addressing the unique challenges faced by rural Australians aligns closely with the mission of the Alliance, where she has been an active member for many years," Ms Tegen said.

"We also thank the outgoing Commissioner Professor Ruth Stewart for her untiring efforts to advocate for healthcare equity. We greatly appreciate her engagement with the Alliance and rural communities throughout her term, which has been earnest and forthcoming.

"We look forward to working closely with Professor May in her new capacity, building on the work of Professor Ruth Stewart's commitments. We are confident that her leadership will drive positive and long-needed changes for rural health," Ms Tegen added.

About us:

The National Rural Health Alliance (the Alliance) comprises 52 national organisations committed to improving the health and wellbeing of the over 7 million people in rural and remote Australia. Our diverse membership includes representation from the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health sector, health professional organisations, health service providers, health educators and students.

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) might be of the point-in-time nature, and edited for clarity, style and length. Mirage.News does not take institutional positions or sides, and all views, positions, and conclusions expressed herein are solely those of the author(s).