Queensland's newest police deployed to Northern and Central Regions

Deputy Commissioner Paul Taylor and Deputy Commissioner Steve Gollschewski today joined the friends and families of the Queensland Police Service's (QPS) 43 newest First Year Constables (FYCs) in celebrating their induction to the Service.

Most of the state's newest police will now head to regional postings throughout the Far Northern, Northern and Central regions, including Townsville, Far North, Mount Isa, Mackay, Capricornia and Wide Bay Burnett, with one officer heading to North Brisbane District.

With backgrounds showcasing former careers as diverse as information technology, animal health, mechanics and skydiving, the FYCs now commence rigorous real-world training at their new stations.

Deputy Commissioner for Regional Queensland, Paul Taylor, encouraged the new officers to embed themselves in the communities in which they are stationed.

"Each of these First Year Constables is about to embark upon an exciting and rewarding career in the QPS," Deputy Commissioner Taylor said.

"Working in regional areas allows for these officers to get a wide variety of experience in all types of police work, but also allows them to become one of the locals through community engagement opportunities outside of work.

"As a QPS officer in regional Queensland, these FYCs will see the direct and very real impact their work has on the people in the communities in which they live."

Deputy Commissioner Gollschewski wished each new officer well in their new careers.

"Congratulations to our newest officers, who will be valuable additions to the Queensland Police Service," Deputy Commissioner Gollschewski said.

"Having already completed a rigorous training program to get this far, they will continue to learn with supervised on-the-job training that equips them with the skills and knowledge to provide exceptional service to their colleagues and fellow Queenslanders."

The new inductees are ready to head to their new stations

This intake of FYCs will be deployed throughout Queensland in the following stations:

Far North District
Cairns Station5
Smithfield Station2
Edmonton Station3
Townsville District
Ayr Station3
Charters Towers Station1
Ingham Station2
Townsville Station4
Stuart Station2
Mundingburra Station4
Deeragun Station2
Kirwan Station3
Mount Isa District
Mount Isa Station3
Mackay District
Mackay Station2
Mackay Northern Beaches1
Whitsunday Station1
Capricornia District
North Rockhampton Station1
Rockhampton Station2
Wide Bay Burnett District
Bundaberg Station1
North Brisbane District
Hendra Station1
/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) might be of the point-in-time nature, and edited for clarity, style and length. Mirage.News does not take institutional positions or sides, and all views, positions, and conclusions expressed herein are solely those of the author(s).View in full here.