Regional police stations to benefit from funding

Refurbishment works at nine regional police stations is expected to get underway within weeks, following a major capital works announcement by the McGowan Government.

The McGowan Government has allocated $13 million to upgrade police stations in the Wheatbelt, Great Southern, South-West, Kimberley and Goldfields-Esperance districts.

Many of the stations have served their communities for over half a century, for example Merredin Police Station, which was built in 1962 and Narrogin Police Station, built in 1968.

Regional station upgradesAmount

Great Southern

   Katanning Police Station

   Narrogin Police Station

   Wagin Police Station

   Williams Police Station

$1.5 million

$2 million

$1 million

$1 million


   Merredin Police Station

$1.5 million


   Collie Police Station

   Donnybrook Police Station

$1.5 million

$1 million


   Derby Police Station

   Kununurra Police Station

$1.5 million

$ 500,000


   Laverton Police Station

$1.5 million

Total $13 million


As stated by Police Minister Michelle Roberts:

“After years of neglect by the Barnett-Harvey Government, some of this work is urgently overdue.

“Despite their much promoted Royalties for Regions program, none of that money was spent on police stations.

“Instead they chose to spend it on musical toilets and plastic cows.

“The McGowan Government is bringing money to where it is needed, and upgrading facilities in these regional communities to ensure our police have safe, modern and secure facilities to do their job.”

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.