SA/NT Pharmacist of Year: Adam Forrest MPS Wins Award

Pharmaceutical Society of Australia

The Pharmaceutical Society of Australia (PSA) is proud to announce community pharmacist Adam Forrest MPS as the 2023 SA/NT Pharmacist of the Year

Adam is a community pharmacist practising at Terry White Chemmart Christies Guild best known for his unwavering commitment to quality use of medicines and his passion in areas such as mental health and Indigenous health. In the pharmacy, Forrest drives chronic disease management programs in diabetes and asthma and led the pharmacy in becoming a dementia friendly practice. He has built a trusted relationship with the surrounding medical practitioners who acknowledge his expertise and seek his advice regularly. He has been a preceptor to quite a few interns and has been a much appreciated mentor to students. He has a passion for teaching and mentoring pharmacists, with the philosophy that by helping pharmacists to reach their potential (and expectations of other pharmacists and consumers), we can lift the standard of the entire profession. Additionally, he sits on the Adelaide Primary Health Network Clinical Council, tutors in the UniSA pharmacy program, and is an assessor for the intern oral exams. PSA SA/NT President Veronika Seda presented the award alongside South Australian Health Minister the Hon. Chris Picton MP.

"Adam's passion for the success and progression of the whole profession has seen him embrace new opportunities in pharmacy practice," Ms Seda said. "Adam exemplifies everything we love about pharmacists, from his dedication to building trusting relationships with his community, to providing the highest standard of care. "I am proud to present this award to Adam tonight, and can't wait to watch him continue to grow in his professional practise." PSA also presented the SA/NT Early Career Pharmacist Award to Dee-Anne Hull MPS, for her work in multidisciplinary care. Dee covered a maternity leave position for the Pharmacists in Aged Care Project, a PSA project funded by the Country SA Primary Health Network. Her experience in working with a multidisciplinary team, collaborating to support high risk residents and using this experience as a basis to influence for the impact of pharmacists roles in Aged Care.

This led to a change in career trajectory to her current, non-traditional role, as a Quality and Clinical Specialist for Southern Cross Care within a multi-disciplinary leadership team. She has engaged with a broader audience, as a panellist, workshop facilitator and presenter. Dee has quickly developed the confidence to speak to colleagues and stakeholders about the changing landscape for pharmacists in aged care and she continues to encourage and support other pharmacists considering a career in aged care. She launched the Aged Care Pharmacist- Australia Facebook page, and has quickly built this to a community of about 260 pharmacists sharing research and discussion. She continues to advocate for that vital connection onsite aged care pharmacists will build and foster with community pharmacies that are already dispensing medications for aged care. Dee values this vital link between prescribers, residential facilities and pharmacist services in both the current RMMR/QUM model and future on-site pharmacist models. "Congratulations to Adam and Dee on their awards tonight, we are lucky to be home to such outstanding pharmacists," Ms Seda concluded.

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) might be of the point-in-time nature, and edited for clarity, style and length. Mirage.News does not take institutional positions or sides, and all views, positions, and conclusions expressed herein are solely those of the author(s).