Squad announced for ICC World Cup

The National Selection Panel has announced the following squads for the upcoming ICC Cricket World Cup and Australia A Tours of England.

  • World Cup Squad
  • Australia A ODI Squad
  • Australia A Four Day Tour Match

The 2019/2020 Contract List is also included in the release below.


The fifteen-player squad for the ICC World Cup will assemble in Brisbane for a training camp at the National Cricket Centre on May 2.

The training camp will include three practice matches between Australia XI and New Zealand XI at Allan Border Field.

Australia opens its World Cup title defence against Afghanistan at the Bristol County Ground in just 47 days.

Australian Men’s World Cup Squad:

Aaron Finch (c) (Victoria)

Usman Khawaja (Queensland)

David Warner (New South Wales)

Steve Smith (New South Wales)

Shaun Marsh (Western Australia)

Glenn Maxwell (Victoria)

Marcus Stoinis (Western Australia)

Alex Carey (vc) (South Australia)

Pat Cummins (vc) (New South Wales)

Mitchell Starc (New South Wales)

Jhye Richardson (Western Australia)

Nathan Coulter-Nile (Western Australia)

Jason Behrendorff (Western Australia)

Nathan Lyon (New South Wales)

Adam Zampa (South Australia)

Chairman of Selectors, Trevor Hohns, said:

“We’d like to congratulate the players selected to represent Australia at the upcoming World Cup, it is a huge honour and I know this squad is focused on playing a brand of cricket which can help us in our ambition to win another World Cup title.

“We have been extremely pleased with how the ODI squad has been building over the past six months, including the recent series wins in India and against Pakistan in the UAE.

“Steve Smith and David Warner come back into the squad. Both are world class players and it has been pleasing to see them produce some good form in the IPL.

“Mitchell Starc and Jhye Richardson have both been named subject to fitness. The advice from the CA medical team is they are progressing well and barring any setbacks will be available for selection ahead of our opening match against Afghanistan on June 1.

“Given the depth of talent and competition for spots there were a number of tough calls we had to make to settle on our squad of 15.

“Unfortunately, from the recent squad which toured India and the UAE, Peter Handscomb, Ashton Turner and Kane Richardson have made way for the above inclusions, but all three have been included in the Australia A squad for the tour of England.

“Josh Hazlewood has also been named in the Australia A squad. Having not played at the highest level for some time, we feel this will provide him with the best preparation to get some quality cricket under his belt. Our focus is to have Josh back bowling at his best for the commencement of a big Ashes Tour.”

Australia’s World Cup Fixture:

Match 1 – June 1

Afghanistan v Australia

Bristol Country Ground, Bristol

1:30pm (Local Time)

Match 2 – June 6

Australia v West Indies

Trent Bridge, Nottingham

10:30am (Local Time)

Match 3 – June 9

India v Australia

The Oval, London

10:30am (Local Time)

Match 4 – June 12

Australia v Pakistan

Country Ground Taunton, Taunton

10:30am (Local Time)

Match 5 – June 15

Sri Lanka v Australia

The Oval, London

10:30am (Local Time)

Match 6 – June 20

Australia v Bangladesh

Trent Bridge, Nottingham10:30am (Local Time)

Match 7 – June 25

England v Australia

Lord’s, London

10:30am (Local Time)

Match 8 – June 29

New Zealand v Australia

Lord’s, London

1:30pm (Local Time)

Match 9 – July 6

Australia v South Africa

Old Trafford, Manchester

1:30pm (Local Time)

Semi Finals– July 9 and 11

World Cup Final – July 14


“The National Selection Panel has announced its fourteen-player squad for the Australia A Tour of England starting on June 20,” Hohns said.

“The tour will see Australia A play five one day matches against County teams while the ICC World Cup is underway. This will provide us with the appropriate coverage to bring players into the Australian World Cup squad if required.

“Australia A will open its tour of England with a one-day match against Northamptonshire at The County Ground, Northamptonshire.”

Australia A Men’s ODI Squad:

Travis Head (c) (South Australia)

Matthew Wade (Tasmania)

Will Pucovski (Victoria)

Peter Handscomb (Victoria)

Ashton Turner (Western Australia)

Mitch Marsh (vc) (Western Australia)

D’Arcy Short (Western Australia)

Kurtis Patterson (New South Wales)

Ashton Agar (Western Australia)

Michael Neser (Queensland)

James Pattinson (Victoria)

Josh Hazlewood (vc) (New South Wales)

Kane Richardson (South Australia)

Sean Abbott (New South Wales)

Australia A Tour of England Fixture:

One Day Match 1 – June 20

Australia A v Northamptonshire

The County Ground, Northamptonshire

TBC (Local Time)

One Day Match 2 – June 23

Australia A v Derbyshire

County Ground, Derby

TBC (Local Time)

One Day Match 3 – June 25

Australia A v Worcestershire

New Road, Worcester

TBC (Local Time)

One Day Match 4 – June 30

Australia A v Gloucestershire

Bristol Country Ground, Bristol

TBC (Local Time)

One Day Match 5 – July 2

Australia A v Gloucestershire

Bristol Country Ground, Bristol

TBC (Local Time)


“We have announced a fourteen-player squad for the Australia A Four Day Tour of England starting on July 7,” Hohns said.

“The tour will see Australia A play three four-day tour matches in the build up to the Ashes Tour of England, providing the players with a good opportunity to push their case for selection.

“We have Joe Burns, Cameron Bancroft, Marnus Labuschagne, Matthew Renshaw, Peter Siddle and Daniel Worrall in our sights but they have not been included in the squad and will continue to play through this period with their County teams.

“However, we have made it clear that strong form with their County teams will be taken into account for selection in the Ashes squad or the Australia v Australia A tour match.

“Following the four-day tour match in Hampshire we will be in a position to announce our squad for the Ashes.”

Australia A Four Day Squad:

Tim Paine (c) (Tasmania)

Marcus Harris (Victoria)

Kurtis Patterson (New South Wales)

Will Pucovski (Victoria)

Travis Head (vc) (South Australia)

Peter Handscomb (Victoria)

Matthew Wade (Tasmania)

Mitch Marsh (Western Australia)

Michael Neser (Queensland)

Jon Holland (Victoria)

James Pattinson (Victoria)

Jackson Bird (Tasmania)

Josh Hazlewood (vc) (New South Wales)

Chris Tremain (Victoria)

Australia A Four Day Fixture:

Tour Match 1 – July 7

Australia A v Sussex

Arundel Castle Cricket Ground, Arundel

TBC (Local Time)

Tour Match 2 – July 13

Australia A v England Lions

The Spitfire Ground, Canterbury

TBC (Local Time)

Tour Match 3 – July 23

Australia v Australia A

Ageas Bowl, Hampshire

TBC (Local Time)


“We believe the 2019/20 contract list provides us with a versatile group of players who can represent Australia across all three formats over the contract period,” Hohns said.

“Our key criteria focused on selecting a pool of players who are going to help us in our ambition to win the upcoming World Cup and Ashes Series in England, and who can also play the various formats over the course of the Australian summer.”

Patrick Cummins

Nathan Coulter-Nile

Alex Carey

Aaron Finch

Usman Khawaja

Peter Handscomb

Marcus Harris

Travis Head

Josh Hazlewood

Nathan Lyon

Glenn Maxwell

Shaun Marsh

Tim Paine

James Pattinson

Jhye Richardson

Steve Smith

Mitchell Starc

Marcus Stoinis

David Warner

Adam Zampa


/Public Release. View in full here.