Stuart McGrath-Kerr wins 2017 Graham Gregory (GG) Award

22 Oct 2018

Austin Evans MP and Stuart McGrath-Kerr

Stuart McGrath-Kerr has been awarded the 2017 Graham Gregory (GG) Award for outstanding contributions to the NSW wine industry.

NSW Department of Primary Industries (DPI) Group Director Plant Systems Dr Alison Bowman said Stuart has been involved in the wine and viticulture industry since 1987.

“This award recognises areas such as leadership, research and development, winemaking, education and market development, many of the attributes Stuart has shown since becoming the Executive Officer of the Wine Grapes Marketing Board in 87,” Dr Bowman said.

“Stuart oversaw the Association move from being a regional body, to one that promotes the 14 NSW wine regions focusing on marketing activities such as the development of the “NSW Wine” brand, the NSW Wine Awards and the NSW Wine Regions Auction.

“He has played a role in building the value of NSW wine exports, which has increased nearly 700 percent over the last decade, with NSW home to seven of Australia’s top twenty wine exporters,” she said.

Stuart has also been involved in the NSW component of the Australia Regional Wine Grape Utilisation and Pricing Survey, as well as running the Riverina wine show from 1988-2016 and taking on Secretary of the Riverina Winemakers Association from 2000 and played a major role in releasing the Guide to Managing Risks in the NSW Wine Industry in conjunction with Safework NSW

Mr Angus Barnes, Executive Officer NSW Wine Industry Association said Stuart conducted himself always with high integrity and treated the resources of the association with great respect and care.

“We congratulate Stuart on this well-deserved achievement.”

The award is presented retrospectively from the contributions to the NSW wine industry in the previous year.

The award is named after former NSW Agriculture Deputy Director General Graham Gregory, who was instrumental in the development of the NSW wine industry.

/Public Release.View in full here.