Successful candidates announced in 2020 TSRA election

The successful candidates for the 28 November 2020 Torres Strait Regional Authority (TSRA) election were confirmed today following the completion of the count by the Australian Electoral Commission (AEC).

The Returning Officer for the election, David Stuart, said all votes received by the AEC had a full preferential count of votes conducted.

“All aspects of the count were able to be observed by scrutineers representing candidates,” Mr Stuart said.

“A total of 51 people stood as candidates, and 17 of the 20 TSRA wards were contested.”

The successful candidates for each ward, including those uncontested, are:

Candidates elected unopposed

MOOKA, Patrick – Dauan Island

MOSBY, Hilda – Masig Island

STEPHEN, Rocky Gabriel – Ugar Island

Candidates elected after the conduct of mobile and static polling

BAIRA, Horace – Badu Island

YUSIA, Tailisa – Bamaga

TOBY, Dimas Pinaith – Boigu Island

GELA, Jimmy Joe – Erub Island

DORANTE, Seriako – Hammond Island

DAVID, Charles – Iama Island

SAVAGE, Danie – Kubin

REPU, Cygnet – Mabuiag Island

KAIGEY, Bob – Mer Island

LOBAN, Yen N. – Ngurapai and Muralag

STEPHEN, Pedro – Port Kennedy

PEARSON, Nicholas – Poruma Island

WARUSAM, Marcus Jamal – Saibai Island

SAM, Karyn – Seisia

PAIWAN, John David – St Pauls


BILLY, Iris – Warraber Island

Further information about TSRA elections can be found on the AEC website.

/Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.