Supporting our Screen Industry: 2019/20 Screen Territory Grants Program Round 2 Recipients Announced

Territory screen practitioners can share more of their Territory stories after receiving a much needed boost to the sector through Round 2 of the 2019/20 Screen Territory Grants Program.

The Territory Labor Government recognises the importance of our screen sector and is committed to creating and supporting jobs across the Territory to ensure the industry can rebound from the impacts of COVID-19.

Four projects will share in $235 000 of Production Finance funding, generating $971 000 of external investment into the Territory. One of these projects, Cook Nga Pouwhenua, is a special First Nations initiative developed in collaboration with Screen Australia and the New Zealand Film Commission.

It will feature eight short films – four from New Zealand Maori creatives and four from Indigenous Australian creatives, three of which will be filmed in the Northern Territory. The project features three Indigenous Northern Territory directors, two Indigenous Northern Territory writers and two Darwin-based animators.

The Industry Partnerships program helps to create skills training and development opportunities for Northern Territory screen practitioners.

Indigenous Community Television received $15 000 for the Festival of Remote Australian Indigenous Moving Image (FRAIM), which targets the needs of Indigenous screen practitioners in geographically isolated areas and provides them with opportunities that are not ordinarily available to them.

The Darwin Film Society received $15 000 for the 3rd Capricornia Film Awards and returning for its 11th year in 2020, The Darwin International Film Festival received $20 000 in Audience Development funding.

Six projects received a total of $52 500 in Story Development funding, which helps screen practitioners demonstrate their talent and build capacity by supporting the development of distinctive Territory screen stories that are capable of reaching and engaging audiences.

This included:

  • Zero-Point – Jonathon Saunders

  • Motor Car Wiru – Andre Sawenko

  • Blackout – Leslie Colin Simpson

  • OUTPOST – Phil Denson

  • Give us Green, Darling! – Alexandra Edmondson

  • Dark Highway – Weave Films

/Public Release. The material in this public release comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.