Tasmania’s 2022 Australian Of Year Award winners

Peter Gutwein,Premier

Congratulations to the 29 Tasmanian recipients of this year’s Australia Day Honours.

These extraordinary Tasmanians have been recognised for their achievements in a number of fields, and for their contributions to the Tasmanian community and our way of life.

The award recipients come from all walks of life and industries including climate science, local government, education, sports, the arts, and emergency and military services.

I also recognise and acknowledge all our 2022 Australian of the Year Tasmanian category winners, whom we are all so proud of, including:

  • Tasmanian Australian of the year, documentary filmmaker and journalist, Craig Leeson;
  • Tasmanian Senior Australian of the Year, agricultural scientist and founder of Food Plants International, Bruce French AO;
  • Tasmanian Young Australian of the Year, youth leader and singer-songwriter, Kaytlyn Johnson; and
  • Tasmania’s Local Hero, a community volunteer with Rotary Club, Kim Smith APM.

These inspiring Tasmanians have all contributed to making our State the best place in the world to live, work and raise a family, and as we continue through the transition of learning to live with COVID, we thank them for their lasting contribution to our community.

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.