Tasmania’s 2023 Australian Of Year Award winners

Jeremy Rockliff, Premier

Congratulations to the 29 Tasmanian recipients of this year’s Australia Day Honours.

These extraordinary Tasmanians have been recognised for their achievements in a number of fields, and for their contributions to the Tasmanian community and our way of life.

The award recipients come from all walks of life and sectors including environment, conservation, disability, government, and emergency and health services.

I acknowledge the Honourable Margaret Reynolds who was appointed Companion of the Order (AC), for eminent service to the people and Parliament of Australia to social justice, gender equality and Indigenous rights.

I also congratulate Dr Anthony James Press who has been appointed Officer of the Order (AO) for his distinguished service to the environment, particularly to the preservation of the Antarctic and Kakadu.

Five Tasmanians have been appointed a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) in recognition of their distinguished achievements:

  • Dr Sally Bryant, for significant service to wildlife and land conservation in Tasmania;
  • Ms Geraldine Harwood, for significant service to youth, and to the disability sector;
  • Mr Timothy Hess, for significant service to aquaculture, and to the community of Tasmania;
  • Mrs Sarah Merridew, for significant service to corporate governance, and to the Tasmanian community; and
  • Mr John Walsh, for significant service to the Anglican Church of Australia, and to the community of Tasmania.

Eight Tasmanians have been awarded a Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) in appreciation of their contributions to their local communities:

  • Ms Christine Bailey, for service to music and theatre organisations;
  • Mr Gerald Harwood, for service to youth through Scouts;
  • Mrs Joyce Mackey, for service to community history preservation;
  • Mrs Susan Rae, for service to the promotion of international trade;
  • Mr Roger Self, for service to the community of the Tasman Peninsula;
  • Dr Graeme Stevenson, for service to conservation and the environment;
  • The late Mr Lyndsay Suhr AFSM, for service to the community of Tasmania; and
  • Mrs Judith Travers, for service to education administration, and to the community.

Four Public Service Medals have been awarded to State Government employees:

  • Commissioner Donna Adams APM, for outstanding public service through leadership during the COVID-19 pandemic;
  • Ms Mandy Denby, for outstanding public service as Director of the Public Information Unit within the Tasmanian State Control Centre during the COVID-19 pandemic;
  • Mr Craig Limkin, for outstanding public service in response to the COVID-19 pandemic; and
  • Mr Dale Webster, for outstanding public service during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Further Meritorious Awards have been awarded to 10 Tasmanians in recognition of their outstanding service in their field:

  • Senior Constable Kelly Cordwell APM;
  • Inspector John Toohey APM;
  • Commander Stuart Wilkinson APM;
  • Mr Brett Robins ESM;
  • Mr Leon Smith ESM;
  • Mr Neil Wright ESM;
  • Ms Erin Hunn ACM;
  • Mr Wade Stewart AFSM;
  • Mr Richard Cosstick AFSM; and
  • Mr Neil Brooksbank AFSM.

These inspiring Tasmanians have all contributed to making our State the best place in the world to live, work and raise a family, and we thank them for their lasting contribution to our community.

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.