Territory trio in line for Rural Women’s Award

Threeinspiring Territory rural women have been named finalists for the 2019AgriFutures Rural Womens Award.

Thisyears finalists hail from across the Territory, with the successful nomineesbased in Alice Springs, Victoria Daly and Darwin.

The AgriFutures Rural Womens Award is Australias leading award acknowledging and supporting the essential role women play in rural industries, businesses and communities.

It also identifies and supports emerging female leaders who have the desire, commitment and leadership potential to make a greater contribution to rural industries and their communities.

TheNT finalists are:

  • DonnaDigby (Alice Springs) would like to pilot a business development andleadership program for women in remote Australia to become InvestHER ready andbuild leadership and business skills, capabilities and confidence, encouragecross-sector networks and foster partnerships in the region.

  • ZoeMalone (Darwin) wants to work with grass-roots organisations to provide toolsand information that will empower volunteers and community groups to takecharge of their governance.

  • RebeccaMohr-Bell (Victoria Daly) has identified a lack of financial literacy andbusiness skills amongst young people working on farms and in regionalcommunities, and would like to explore incentives, training packages or otherinitiatives that could teach financial literacy and skills to young people inan engaging and relevant way.

Stateand territory winners receive a $10,000 Westpac bursary for innovative ideasand projects, and access to professional development opportunities and alumninetworks.

TheRural Womens Award Northern Territory winner will be announced on Wednesday 27March at an event hosted at Parliament House, and will go on to represent theTerritory in the national finals.

/Public Release. View in full here.