Top educators named as finalists in prestigious awards

  • Finalists announced for the WA Education Awards 2019
  • State’s top educators and schools named across 11 award categories
  • Education and Training Minister Sue Ellery has today recognised the State’s most outstanding teachers, leaders, support staff and schools while announcing the finalists in the 2019 WA Education Awards.

    The awards acknowledge the role educators play in shaping the lives of children in public schools in Western Australia every day, while recognising their hard-work, talent and dedication.

    From Wananami Remote Community School – located 500 kilometres north-east of Broome – to Esperance Senior High School, staff and schools across the State have been applauded.

    Melville Senior High School, Thornlie Primary School, Baldivis Secondary College, Busselton Senior High School, Warwick Senior High School, Wattle Grove Primary School, Yule Brook College and Baynton West Primary School have each scored two finalists nods.

    In total, 32 individual finalists and 12 schools are in the running for top honours in 11 award categories. Finalists are listed in the attachment.

    Winners will share in total prize money of $337,500 with a portion of this to be spent on professional development.

    The awards are sponsored by BHP, Edith Cowan University, Fotoworks School Portraits, Teachers Health, Teachers Mutual Bank, Community Newspaper Group, Kinetic IT, Beilby and Modis.

    As stated by Education and Training Minister Sue Ellery:

    “Public schools in Western Australia provide a high-quality learning environment for children every day.

    “I am proud to celebrate the teachers, principals and support staff who continue to inspire students to succeed.

    “The awards are a fantastic way to thank our educators for the knowledge, dedication and the endless opportunities they create for young people in our State.”

    Minister’s office – 6552 5700

    WA Secondary School of the Year

    Exmouth District High School

    Newton Moore Education Support Centre

    Bunbury Senior High School

    Melville Senior High School

    WA Primary School of the Year

    Kalgoorlie Primary School

    Dawson Park Primary School

    Thornlie Primary School

    Caladenia Primary School

    WA Primary Principal of the Year

    Dean Finlay, Ocean Road Primary School

    Lisa Ledger, Baynton West Primary School

    Emma Bancroft, Balingup Primary School

    Lee Woodcock, Thornlie Primary School

    WA Secondary Principal of the Year

    Keith Svendsen, Baldivis Secondary College

    Phillip White, Melville Senior High School

    Dainon Couzic, Busselton Senior High School

    Mark Gillett, Cape Naturaliste College

    WA Aboriginal and Islander Education Officer of the Year

    Gwen Gray, Busselton Senior High School

    Lois Little, Newton Moore Senior High School

    Jade Muli, Warwick Senior High School

    Daniella Borg, Governor Stirling Senior High School

    WA Premier’s Secondary Teacher of the Year

    Tamarra Sheldon, Baldivis Secondary College

    Jeremy Sheldon, Warwick Senior High School

    Jane Ganfield, Dongara District High School

    Michael Gowland, Fremantle College

    WA Premier’s Primary Teacher of the Year

    Veronica Akse, Treendale Primary School

    Michael Webb, Rosalie Primary School

    Renee Knapp, Boyup Brook District High School

    Johnathan Petch, Wattle Grove Primary School

    WA Premier’s Excellence in Aboriginal Education Award

    Wananami Remote Community School

    Cable Beach Primary School

    Baynton West Primary School

    Yule Brook College

    WA School Services Staff Member of the Year

    Julie Hawke, Esperance Senior High School

    Christine Dullard, Shenton College Deaf Education Centre

    Joshua Inwood, Yule Brook College

    Merilyn Harvey, Kent Street Senior High School

    WA Beginning Teacher of the Year

    Dion Alfonsi, Shenton College

    Tasmin Drummond, Vasse Primary School

    Julie Hughes, Ashdale Secondary College

    Kieron Alford, Belmont City College

    WA Education Assistant of the Year

    Cassandra Wilson, Dawul Remote Community School

    Kym Coulthard, Waggrakine Primary School

    Roslyn Price, Dianella Primary College

    Annjanette Wisby, Wattle Grove Primary School

    /Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.