Training opportunities taken up in regions

  • $1.35 million allocated to support vocational education training in regional WA
  • 45 organisations funded to provide skills and employment opportunities to a trainee
  • The McGowan Government is providing training grants across 45 regional communities to develop workforce skills and grow job opportunities.

    The Regional Traineeship Program supports local government authorities and Community Resource Centres (CRCs) to provide local training, skills and employment opportunities, providing grants of up to $30,000.

    The McGowan Government’s $1.35 million investment will support vocational education training for 45 organisations and their local communities – including expanding the traineeship program to nine regional local governments for the first time.


    A further 17 organisations are currently being assessed for funding. The funds are administered through the Department of Primary Industries and Regional Development.

    As stated by Regional Development Minister Alannah MacTiernan:

    “The Regional Traineeship Program offers a range of training opportunities in the regions, whether it be skills diversification, upskilling people in the workforce or kickstarting a career.

    “It’s fantastic to see such good uptake from local governments whose communities previously did not have access to this program. 

    “We have seen strong regional interest in this program, with many applicants focused on supporting training for business, tourism, community services, ranger skills development, automotive servicing technology, and library and information services.

    “These are all skills that help support strong regional communities, benefit our local workforce and support growth across WA.

    “The McGowan Government has committed $2 million towards the Regional Traineeship Program in 2019-20, as part of continued efforts to support jobs and economic development in the regions.”

    Regional Traineeship Program successful applicant organisations
    Augusta CRCKellerberrin CRC
    Bencubbin CRCKondinin CRC
    Beverley CRCKulin CRC
    Bidyadanga CRCLaverton CRC
    Boddington CRCMoora CRC
    Boyup Brook CRCMukinbudin CRC
    Bremer Bay CRCMullewa CRC
    Bridgetown CRCNannup CRC
    Bruce Rock CRCShire of Narrogin
    Shire of CarnamahPingelly CRC
    Shire of Chapman ValleyPinjarra CRC
    Shire of Collie Southern Cross CRC
    Coorow CRCShire of Three Springs
    Corrigin CRCWalpole CRC
    Shire of CuballingWandering CRC
    Cue CRCWaroona CRC
    Cunderdin CRCWellstead CRC
    Denmark CRCWest Arthur CRC
    Dowerin CRCWongan Hills CRC
    Dumbleyung CRCShire of Woodanilling
    Shire of EsperanceYongergnow-Ongerup CRC
    Shire of Exmouth York CRC
    Gingin CRC

    /Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.