UQ eyeing second Uni 7s title

The University of Queensland will chase its second Aon Uni 7s Series title at this weekend’s final round in Canberra.

Team UQ on 56 points leads Griffith University and The University of Sydney by six points following an opening round victory at UQ, and second-place results at Gold Coast and Adelaide.

UQ can secure the title if it places fourth or better in Canberra.

Coach Reg Tayler said the team was aiming to finish the season in style.

“Our ultimate goal for this weekend is to get a gold medal finish,” Tayler said.

“Improvement has been our main focus coming into the last round.

“The championship is on the line for us so we will be pushing hard, but first and foremost we are looking to come out with first place this round.”

The tournament, hosted by University of Canberra, will be the last for vice-captain and Dutch International Jannicke IJdens.

The 31-year-old will retire after three Uni 7s seasons with UQ.

“I am really looking forward to getting out there with the girls and enjoying the final tournament,” IJdens said.

“Being on top of the ladder does bring its pressure, but we are looking forward to getting out there and hopefully we bring the trophy back home.”

IJdens said UQ winning all 20 matches in the inaugural season in 2017 was the highlight of her Uni 7s career.

“I was so lucky to win the series in my first year and then be able to captain the girls for the last two years which makes it even more special.

“I have loved every moment with Team UQ so it is going to be hard to say goodbye.”

UQ will play University of Technology Sydney (10am), Bond University (12pm), and University of New England (1:40pm) on Saturday, with Griffith University (9:40am) and finals to follow on Sunday.

All matches will be live streamed on rugby.com.au‘s website.

2019 Aon Uni 7s Series – Team UQ (Round 4)

Lori Cramer (captain)

Jannicke IJdens (vice-captain)

Amy Brice

Shenae Ciesiolka

Terri-Anne Egan

Georgia Hannaway

Pleuni Kievit

Amelia Kuk

Hagiga (Haj) Mosby

Isabella Nasser

Kaitlin Shave

Sidney Taylor

Melita Hicks

Series Standings

1) The University of Queensland (56 points)

2) Griffith University (50 points)

3) The University of Sydney (50 points)

4) University of Canberra (38 points)

5) University of Technology Sydney (36 points)

6) The University of Adelaide (36 points)

7) Bond University (22 points)

8) The University of Melbourne (18 points)

9) The University of Western Australia (14 points)

10) University of New England (10 points)

2019 Aon Uni 7s Series- Fixtures

Round 4 – University of Canberra, Canberra (26-27 October)

/Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.