$1 million to redevelop Seymour RSL

If re-elected, the Coalition Government will provide $1 million to improve the Seymour RSL facilities to better meet the needs of veterans and their families.

The funding would provide a significant extension of the meeting hall and function area, improved facilities and a playground for families so that the RSL can continue to meet the needs of more veterans, including younger ex-service personnel with families.

Minister for Regionalisation, Bridget McKenzie said the upgrade would also improve physical accessibility to ensure that all ages and groups of people could access and enjoy the RSL.

“Supporting our veterans is incredibly important and has a wider impact on the wellbeing of communities. This funding will ensure all veterans and members of the Seymour community who wish to use the RSL can access it with ease and enjoy the improvements with their families and loved ones,” Minister McKenzie said.

“Close to the Puckapunyal military base, the Seymour community has a strong connection to the military and to veterans, and with an active community that needs an RSL that meets their needs.”

Nationals Candidate for Nicholls, Sam Birrell, said the RSL was very important to the region.

“Our region has a rich military heritage as the home of the Puckapunyal army base and the magnificent Vietnam War memorial,” Mr Birrell said.

“It’s important that we support veterans and their families and this upgrade will allow Seymour RSL to expand the services it can offer.

“We want to make sure that both older and younger veterans have appropriate facilities in our community, and if the Coalition are re-elected, we’ll get it done.”

Only the Coalition Government will continue to deliver a better future for regional communities as part of our plan to build a strong economy and a stronger future.

/National Party's Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.