80 police recruits graduate as Police launch recruitment video

Minister for Police and Minister for Corrective Services The Honourable Mark Ryan

Minister for Police Mark Ryan and Commissioner Katarina Carroll today joined in welcoming 80 new recruits to the Queensland Police Service (QPS), as a new virtual seminar for aspiring police is launched.

Minister Ryan congratulated the First Year Constables (FYCs) on their graduation from the Oxley Police Academy.

“These FYCs are beginning their careers during a pivotal time for both police, and Queensland as a whole,” he said.

“As Queensland manages the health response to the COVID-19 pandemic, these new graduates will be on the frontline of public safety.

“Our Police Academies produce the finest officers in the world, and I know these recruits have received the intensive training they need to keep us safe.

“Each has sworn they will maintain integrity, professionalism and accountability when serving and protecting the people of Queensland.

“I congratulate these officers as they embark on careers with the Queensland Police Service.”

Commissioner Carroll said the QPS’ newest FYCs had completed a rigorous training program to reach their graduation day.

“The recruit training program ensures each officer is prepared for the variety of policing scenarios that lay ahead of them, and they will continue to learn while conducting their duties as First Year Constables,” Commissioner Carroll said.

“Throughout their training, recruits are challenged with scenarios to prepare them for real-world police work, and each graduate has demonstrated tremendous skills and commitment in completing the program.

“These new First Year Constables will be initially posted around the state, covering all regions from the far north down to the south-east and everything in between.

“These new officers each bring their own personal and professional skills to their role, ranging in age from 19 to 52, they provide several generations of diverse experience.

“The breadth of each officer’s experience furthers the enrichment of the QPS as a whole and contributes to providing exceptional service to the community.

“Today’s graduation is cause for celebration for our new officers, and I am proud to welcome them into the QPS.”

Minister Ryan said a new virtual seminar was now available online for hopeful officers-to-be to access important information about what it takes to be part of the QPS.

“The QPS values diversity and is committed to recruiting the best and brightest Queensland has to offer,” he said.

“That’s why the QPS has launched a new virtual recruiting seminar to connect with aspiring police officers across all of Queensland in a COVID-safe way.”

The 20 minute video explains what it takes to be a Queensland Police officer and provides important information for aspiring officers.

Viewers also get to hear from some serving officers who talk about their experiences joining the QPS as well as their exciting roles within the Service.

The seminar can be accessed at any time via the QPS YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dpl9TB6q1TI&t.

These newest police officers will begin their deployments around Queensland in the following stations:

Brisbane Region

North Brisbane District

Boondall Station 2

Fortitude Valley Station 1

Hendra Station 3

Sandgate Station 2

South Brisbane District

Acacia Ridge Station 1

Calamvale Station 1

Carina Station 1

Dutton Park Station 2

Morningside Station 1

Upper Mt Gravatt Station 1

Wynnum Station 1

Central Region

Mackay District

Mackay Station 2

Mackay Nth Beaches Station 1

Proserpine Station 1

Whitsunday Station 1

Capricornia District

Gladstone Station 4

Rockhampton Station 2

North Rockhampton Station 1

Wide Bay Burnett District

Gympie Station 2


Townsville District

Deeragun Station 1

Kirwan Station 3

Mundingburra Station 2

Townsville Station 3

Far North District

Cairns Station 5

Edmonton Station 2

Smithfield Station 2

South Eastern Region

Logan District

Beaudesert Station 1

Beenleigh Station 2

Browns Plains Station 2

Crestmead Station 1

Loganholme Station 1

Gold Coast District

Broadbeach Station 2

Coomera Station 2

Nerang Station 2

Southern Region

Moreton District

Bribie Island Station 1

Caboolture Station 4

Ipswich District

Goodna Station 1

Ipswich Station 1

Karana Downs Station 1

Springfield Station 1

Yamanto Station 1

Darling Downs District

Drayton Station 2

Toowoomba Station 3

Highfields Station 1

South West District

Cunnamulla Station 1

Longreach Station 1

Roma Station 1

/Public Release. The material in this public release comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.