ANU staff and alumni share in Queen’s birthday honours

Distinguished staff and graduates from The Australian National University have been recognised for their significant contribution in the 2019 Queen’s Birthday Honours list.

Former ANU Pro-Chancellor Dr Annabelle Bennett AO SC has received top honours, being named a companion to the Order of Australia, or AC. Dr Bennett, a former Australian Federal Court judge, served as ANU Pro-Chancellor from 1998 to 2011.

The award acknowledges Dr Bennett’s “eminent service to the law, and to the judiciary, particularly in the field of intellectual property, to higher education, and to sports administration”.

A number of ANU alumni have also been made companions, including former PM Kevin Rudd and quantum chemist Emeritus Professor Leo Radom.

The list of new ACs also includes long-time diplomat and public servant Mr Dennis Richardson, who received an honorary Doctor of Laws from ANU in 2018.

ANU council member Ms Natasha Stott Despoja AM has been named an officer of the Order of Australia (AO). The award recognises Ms Stott Despoja’s “distinguished service to the global community as an advocate for gender equality”.

Joining her as an officer is Emeritus Professor Andrew Hopkins for distinguished service to higher education, particularly industrial safety and accident analysis. Other new AOs with a strong connection to ANU include:

A number of ANU staff and alumni were also named members of the Order of Australia, or AM, including Emeritus Professor Neville Exon f for his significant contributions to marine biology.

Other new members include emeritus faculty member and graduate Dr Josephine Flood, for her work in archaeology and Indigenous culture, and Dr John Read for his services to Indigenous history. Former journalist and now Crawford School visiting fellow Peter Martin also received an AM for his work on economics.

Bachelor of Asian Studies graduate Ms Lisa Filipetto has also been named an AM. Ms Filipetto is a former Australian diplomat now based with the United Nations.

Professor Jane Dahlstrom has been named a medallist in the Order of Australia, or OAM, for her service to medical education and pathology. ANU medical school lecturer, Dr Vida Viliunas has also received an OAM for her work across medicine and anaesthesiology.

/Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.