Australia squad announced for 2020 ICC Under-19 World Cup

Cricket Australia’s Youth Selection Panel (YSP), in conjunction with State Talent Managers, have selected a 15-player squad to represent Australia at the 2020 ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup in South Africa.

The squad, selected at the completion of the Under 19 Male National Championships in Perth, will take part in the tournament which runs from 17 January to 9 February, 2020.

Seven players with full or rookie contracts with their state have been selected, while three players in the squad are currently contracted to KFC Big Bash League clubs.

Among those players are Victorian batsmen Jake Fraser-McGurk (rookie) and Mackenzie Harvey (full contract), both members of the Melbourne Renegades’ BBL|08 winning squad. Fraser-McGurk has enjoyed a taste of Marsh Sheffield Shield and Marsh One-Day Cup cricket with Victoria this season, while Harvey has two List A and 13 BBL matches under his belt.

Another Victorian rookie, Patrick Rowe has been named as the squad’s wicketkeeper-batsman after scoring two centuries at the Under 19 Championships for Victoria Country. He is joined by four other rookie-contracted players – batsmen Oliver Davies (NSW), Sam Fanning (WA) and fast bowlers Connor Sully and Matthew Willans (both Qld).

Recent Marsh Sheffield Shield debutant Liam Scott has been included to bolster the batting stocks, as has NSW Metro captain Lachlan Hearne, who scored 462 runs at 66 apiece to finish the U19 Championships as its leading run-scorer.

Australia will take a strong spin contingent to South Africa, with Sydney Thunder contracted Tanveer Sangha, Victoria Country’s Todd Murphy and Western Australia’s Cooper Connolly forming a potent trio.

All-rounder Connolly, the leading player from U17 Male National Championships, backed up his efforts at the U19 tournament. Representing the Cricket Australia XI, Connolly scored 396 runs and claimed eight wickets in his home state.

NSW Metro fast bowlers Liam Marshall and Bradley Simpson, plus South Australian bowling all-rounder Corey Kelly, round out the 15-man squad.

The squad will be coached by Chris Rogers, with Ryan Harris the assistant coach.

Cricket Australia National Talent & Pathway Manager, Graham Manou, said:

“We’re pleased to announce a strong 15-player squad for the upcoming 2020 ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup in South Africa.

“Our squad includes players of all disciplines with experience in domestic cricket environments, with some having already made promising starts to their careers at senior level.

“The Under-19 World Cup provides these players with an exceptional development opportunity and we look forward to seeing them represent their country with distinction.

“We’re looking forward to departing for South Africa in January and demonstrating the strength of our underage talent pool against international opposition.”

The squad will assemble at the National Cricket Centre for a training camp from 5 to 9 January, before departing for South Africa soon after.

Australia’s World Cup campaign will begin in the Northern Cape city of Kimberley, where they will play three Group B matches against the West Indies (18 January), Nigeria (20 January) and England (23 January).

The top two teams from each of the four groups will progress to the top eight ‘Super League’ to determine the World Cup champions, while the third and fourth placed teams in each group will participate in the Plate League.

Australia 15-player 2020 ICC Under-19 World Cup Squad

Cooper Connolly (Western Australia)

Oliver Davies (NSW Metro)

Sam Fanning (Western Australia)

Jake Fraser-McGurk (Victoria Metro)

Mackenzie Harvey (Victoria Metro)

Lachlan Hearne (NSW Metro)

Corey Kelly (South Australia)

Liam Marshall (NSW Metro)

Todd Murphy (Victoria Country)

Patrick Rowe (Victoria Country)

Tanveer Sangha (NSW Metro)

Liam Scott (South Australia)

Bradley Simpson (NSW Metro)

Connor Sully (Queensland)

Matthew Willans (Queensland)

2020 ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup, South Africa

17 January – 9 February, 2020

Australia fixtures:

– v West Indies, 18 January, Diamond Oval, Kimberley

– v Nigeria, 20 January, Country Club B Field, Kimberley

– v England, 23 January, Diamond Oval, Kimberley

Plate League quarter-finals from 27 January.

Super League quarter-finals from 28 January.

/Public Release. The material in this public release comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.