CA congratulates winners of 2021 State Cricket Awards

Cricket Australia congratulates the nine individual and team winners of the 2020-21 State Cricket Awards following an unforgettable domestic season.

David Warner and Tom Andrews are the joint winners of this season’s Marsh One-Day Cup Player of the Year Award.

The Award is based on 3-2-1 votes awarded by umpires at the end of every One-Day fixture.

Warner scored 199 runs at an average of 66.33 from three matches in New South Wales’ title-winning campaign, highlighted by innings of 87 against South Australia in round two and 108 against Tasmania in round four.

Andrews was equally impressive with the ball for Tasmania, taking eight wickets at an average of 29.5 from five Marsh One-Day Cup matches, including 3-45 off 10 overs against Victoria in round two, and 3-29 from 9 overs against South Australia in round three.

Bruce Oxenford has received the Cricket Australia Umpire Award for his exceptional contributions both on and off the field in this unique season.

Oxenford, who recently announced his retirement from international cricket, umpired a home Test series against India for the first time before re-joining CA’s domestic competitions.

In addition to his excellent performances on the field, Oxenford contributed willingly and positively to improve umpiring and the game as a whole. He is a regular contributor at national, state and community events and is a committed supporter of aspiring umpires.

Hannah Darlington has been recognised for her breakout season, winning the Lord’s Taverners Indigenous Cricketer of the Year award.

Darlington played an integral role in Sydney Thunder’s WBBL|06 Championship winning side, taking 19 wickets at an average of 13.68.

Darlington also captained NSW’s WNCL team for the first time when the Breakers played Tasmania in Hobart and, in so doing, became the youngest ever captain of New South Wales.

Darlington’s remarkable season culminated in being named in Australia’s squad to tour New Zealand.

Darlington was also an integral contributor in the Walkabout Wickets documentary on the 2018 Indigenous tour to the UK, which retraced the footsteps of the 1868 Aboriginal cricket team.

Queensland and Western Australia are the joint winners of the Women’s Benaud Spirit of Cricket Award.

QLD and WA were tied on 57 points at the end of the WNCL season, with Victoria two points behind in second place.

In the Spirit of Cricket Awards, teams are awarded points across three categories at the end of each match, with Respect for Opponents, Respect for Umpires and Respect for the Game all measured.

Victoria took out this year’s Men’s Benaud Spirit of Cricket Award, with a combined 226 points across the Marsh Sheffield Shield and Marsh One-Day Cup seasons, 15 points ahead of Western Australia.

In addition to the aforementioned awards, CA would like to again congratulate the previously announced winners of this season’s awards.

This includes Nathan Lyon (NSW), who was named the Marsh Sheffield Shield Player of the Season; Elyse Villani (Victoria), who won the WNCL Player of the Year Award; Sophie Devine (Perth Scorchers), who claimed the rebel WBBL|06 Player of the Year Award; and Josh Philippe (Sydney Sixers), who was named the KFC BBL|10 Player of the Year.

CA Head of Cricket Operations, Peter Roach, said:

“Amidst all the challenges that the 2020-21 season threw at our great game, there have been some incredibly strong performances at domestic level.

“Across Australia we have seen many of our international stars playing more domestic cricket than they have for some time, competing against our up-and-coming and established talent, with some players bursting through to demand inclusion in national teams as a result of their 2020-21 performances. I congratulate all award winners.

“It is timely to say a big thank you to all players, coaches, support staff, match officials and administration staff who all came together to ensure that we had strong, competitive and vibrant domestic competitions – competitions that have always been and will always be vital to Australia presenting strong national teams.”

2021 State Cricket Awards

  • Marsh Sheffield Shield Player of the Year – Nathan Lyon (New South Wales).
  • Women’s National Cricket League Player of the Year – Elyse Villani (Victoria).
  • Marsh One-Day Cup Players of the Year – David Warner (New South Wales) & Tom Andrews (Tasmania).
  • rebel Women’s Big Bash League Player of the Year – Sophie Devine (Perth Scorchers).
  • KFC Big Bash League Player of the Year – Josh Philippe (Sydney Sixers).
  • Lord’s Taverners Indigenous Cricketer of the Year – Hannah Darlington (Australia, New South Wales, Sydney Thunder).
  • Benaud Spirit of Cricket Award (Men’s) – Victoria.
  • Benaud Spirit of Cricket Award (Women’s) – Western Australia and Queensland.
  • Cricket Australia Umpire Award – Bruce Oxenford.

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.