Council to form Multicultural Advisory Committee

Greater representation of the Toowoomba Region’s diversity will soon be on display with the establishment of a Multicultural Advisory Committee.

Adopted at the Ordinary Meeting of Toowoomba Regional Council on 15 June, Environment and Community Chair Cr James O’Shea said this was an important step in recognising the wide range of communities which make up the Toowoomba Region.

“If you look at how Australia was formed, and in particular, the Toowoomba Region, you will see that we come from many walks of life,” Cr O’Shea said.

“We have such an amazing spread of nationalities here in our Region and it’s important they all have an opportunity to be heard.

“The establishment of this advisory committee will help us to do just this, with members of the community invited to be part of the committee.

“Once we have a group in place, the committee will be asked for input into the development of a Toowoomba Regional Council Multicultural Action Plan (MAP). The MAP will provide a framework for Council to identify issues and priorities for its multicultural communities. It will include specific actions to respond to needs and aim for more equitable outcomes for individuals, families and communities.”

The Multicultural Advisory Committee will consist of up to 16 members, with Cr O’Shea as the Chairperson, Crs Megan O’Hara Sullivan and Carol Taylor as Council’s representatives and the rest of the Committee to be made up of culturally diverse community members or sector representatives.

Anyone who would like to enter an expressions of interest in joining the Committee should contact Council’s Multicultural Officer on 131 872.

/Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization/author(s)and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.