Federal Reserve Board announces inaugural 21 members of Insurance Policy Advisory Committee

The Federal Reserve Board on Wednesday announced the inaugural 21 members of the Insurance Policy Advisory Committee (IPAC). The IPAC provides information, advice, and recommendations to the Federal Reserve Board on domestic and international insurance issues, including negotiations at the International Association of Insurance Supervisors (IAIS).

The inaugural IPAC members include expertise in life insurance, property and casualty insurance, and reinsurance. Members have professional backgrounds in insurance accounting, actuarial science, academia, insurance regulation, policyholder advocacy, capital markets, and other areas.

The inaugural IPAC members will serve staggered terms ranging from one to three years. Starting next year, the Board intends to annually appoint new members to the IPAC to serve three-year terms.


Keith Bell


Senior Vice President, Corporate Finance

Birny Birnbaum

Center for Economic Justice

Executive Director

John Bruno

The Auto Club Group

Executive Vice President, General Counsel, Secretary & Chief Human Resources Officer

Joseph Engelhard


Senior Vice President, Head of Regulatory Policy Group

Bridget Hagan

The Cypress Group

Partner, Head of Insurance Practice Group

Halina von dem Hagen


Global Treasurer and Head of Capital Management

Michael Ferik


Chief Financial Officer

Tom Finnell

Finnell & Co. LLC


Former Vice Chair of the IAIS’s Capital Solvency and Field Testing Working Group

William Hines


Principal & Consulting Actuary

Laura Lazarczyk

Zurich Insurance

Chief Legal Officer of Zurich North America

Michael Lockerman

PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP


Patricia McCoy

Boston College Law School

Liberty Mutual Insurance Professor of Law

Julie Mix McPeak

Greenberg Traurig, LLP

Former President of the NAIC and Vice Chair of IAIS’s Executive Committee

Wayne Peacock


President, Property & Casualty Group

Maurice Perkins


Senior Vice President, Global Head of Government & Policy Affairs

Pooja Rahman

New York Life

Vice President and Head of Financial Risk Management

Angela Ripley

VW Brown Insurance Service


Kevin Root

Church Mutual

Executive Vice President, Operations

Aaron Sarfatti

AXA Equitable Life

Chief Risk Officer

Gray Schweitzer


Head of U.S. Financial Institutions Group Debt Capital Markets

Joseph Sieverling

Reinsurance Association of America

Senior Vice President and Director of Financial Services

/Public Release. View in full here.