Finalists announced in WA Fire and Emergency Services Awards

  • Outstanding contributions and achievements of emergency services personnel recognised
  • Finalists from as far north as Kununurra and as far south as Margaret River
  • The McGowan Government has today announced 35 finalists for the Western Australian Fire and Emergency Services (WAFES) Awards.
  • The annual awards recognise the important contribution emergency services personnel make to WA, particularly volunteers who donate their time for the benefit of the community.

    Thirteen awards across three categories – individual, team and youth – will acknowledge excellence in volunteer and career firefighting, Marine Rescue and State Emergency Service.

    Awards for operational and corporate staff at the Department of Fire and Emergency Services will also be presented.

    The outstanding personnel honoured in 2021 included Marine Rescue Albany volunteers who saved the life of a fisherman washed adrift and a volunteer firefighter from Merredin who tripled the number of women volunteering at her brigade.

    This year’s finalists range from as far north as Kununurra and as far south as Margaret River.

    Winners will be announced at a gala dinner on Saturday September 10, 2022 at Crown Perth.

    Further details on the WAFES Awards are available at

    As stated by Emergency Services Minister Stephen Dawson:

    “Congratulations to all of the finalists for their outstanding commitment to keeping their communities safe.

    “Each year, nearly 26,000 volunteers and 1,600 operational personnel work tirelessly to protect WA communities.

    “These individuals and groups demonstrate exceptional professionalism, leadership and commitment in their roles.

    “I look forward to seeing their invaluable contribution acknowledged at the WAFES Awards later this year.”

    Minister’s office – 6552 5800


    Firefighting Youth Achievement Award

    • Nadia Olawsky, Crossing Falls Volunteer Bush Fire Brigade
    • Caitlin Gray, Northam Central Bush Fire Brigade
    • Ayden Stenton, Glen Forrest Volunteer Bush Fire Brigade

    Marine Rescue Youth Achievement Award

    • Jaymes Roser, Marine Rescue Port Hedland
    • James Cotter, Marine Rescue Carnarvon

    State Emergency Service Youth Achievement Award

    • Cassidy Kempster, Northshore State Emergency Service


    Career Fire and Rescue Service Individual Achievement Award

    • Dom Reay, Firefighter, Perth Fire Station
    • Anthony Gaynor, Station Officer, Rockingham Fire Station

    DFES Operational Staff Individual Achievement Award

    • Peter Thomas, District Officer Fire Capes
    • Brendan Wilson, District Officer Emergency Management Midwest Gascoyne
    • Bec Benson, District Officer Marine-Pilbara/Kimberley

    DFES Corporate Staff Individual Achievement Award

    • Scott Hares, Executive Manager Plant and Equipment
    • Matthew Watson, Manager Health and Safety Services
    • Lurline Byles, Coordinator Digital Communications

    Marine Rescue Individual Achievement Award

    • Krisma May, Marine Rescue Broome
    • Emmie Burton, Marine Rescue Dampier
    • Chrissy Heu, Marine Rescue Jurien Bay

    Murray Lang Bush Fire Service Award

    • Steven Bolt, Bilbarin Volunteer Bush Fire Brigade
    • Christopher Grubba, Kalamunda Volunteer Bush Fire Brigade
    • Edwin Bland, Bridgetown Volunteer Bush Fire Brigade

    Peter Keillor Award

    • Thomas Warwick Martindale, Kalamunda State Emergency Service
    • Lindal Booth (Lin), Mundaring State Emergency Service
    • Colin Nicholson (deceased), Collie State Emergency Service

    Volunteer Fire and Rescue Service Individual
    Achievement Award

    • Rhian Ambrosius, Karratha Volunteer Fire and Rescue Service
    • Karen Brennan, Derby Volunteer Fire and Rescue Service
    • Craig Doyle, Broome Volunteer Fire and Rescue Service


    Team Achievement Award

    • Wagin Volunteer Fire and Rescue Service
    • Gelorup Volunteer Bush Fire Brigade
    • Broome Volunteer Fire and Rescue Service

    Rescue Team Achievement Award

    • Marine Rescue Geraldton
    • Marine Rescue Jurien Bay
    • Marine Rescue Margaret River

    State Emergency Service Team Achievement Award

    • SWORD State Emergency Service Logistics
    • Carnarvon State Emergency Service
    • Busselton State Emergency Service LAT Reloaders

    /Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.