Life-Changing Scholarships Awarded to Western NSW Students

NSW Department of Education

More than a dozen public school students in western NSW have received scholarships at the 2024 Proudly Public! Awards night at Sydney Town Hall.

They are among more than 300 public school students and educators from across Australia to receive scholarships administered by the Public Education Foundation in 2024.

Since the launch of PEF's scholarships program in 2009 3,218 students and more than 120 educators have been supported with more than $10 million in life-changing scholarships administered by the Foundation.

Local award winners include:

  • Ivy Mason and Luke Turner from Canowindra High School - Waratah Education Foundation Secondary Transition Scholarships
  • Zahlee Fernando, Clare Hopkins, Shirleena Fernando Roberts, Temia Robinson and Jarron Welsh from Coonamble High School - Connected Communities Scholarships
  • Bruce Hill from Eglinton Public School - NSW Teachers Federation Primary Scholarship
  • Mia Rose Thurtell from Eugowra Public School - NSW Teachers Federation Primary Scholarship
  • Aiden McMahon from Eugowra Public School - Waratah Education Foundation Primary Scholarship
  • Chloe Gibson from Forbes High School - Waratah Education Foundation Secondary Transition Scholarship
  • Cooper Peters from Gulargambone Central School - Aboriginal Education Council Scholarship
  • Hailie Jean Horrigan from Mudgee Public School - Vorsay Scholarship
  • Sherrlyn Bennett from Quambone Public School - Waratah Education Foundation Primary Scholarship

NSW Department of Education Secretary Murat Dizdar said the scholarships could be a game changer for many students and change their life trajectory.

"Our world-class public education system empowers our students and can be an equaliser within our society – that's why these scholarships are so important to our students who face disadvantage," Mr Dizdar said.

"Thank you to our staff who support student excellence and the Public Education Foundation for its ongoing support of public education in NSW.

"I am proud of our students, teachers and leaders who have won scholarships and I look forward to seeing the scholarship recipients go on to achieve outstanding educational outcomes."

Public Education Foundation (PEF) CEO David Riordan further emphasised that the awards celebrated scholarships that had the potential to "change lives". "Proudly Public! celebrates the best and brightest students and educators in our public school system," Mr Riordan said. "We also want to acknowledge our premium partners and other generous and supportive partners and donors who assist us in providing more of these life-altering scholarships."

The Public Education Foundation is a charity dedicated to enhancing the value and reputation of public education by providing scholarships to its students, teachers and principals.

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) might be of the point-in-time nature, and edited for clarity, style and length. Mirage.News does not take institutional positions or sides, and all views, positions, and conclusions expressed herein are solely those of the author(s).