McGowan Government launches solar schools program for regions

  • 30 public schools in remote and regional WA to benefit from Solar Schools Program
  • Horizon Power to supply and install rooftop solar systems at schools 
  • Program will create 12 new jobs and two apprenticeship roles in regional WA
  • Another important piece of the State’s transition towards a low carbon future  
  • Education and Training Minister Sue Ellery today launched the Solar Schools Program at Port Hedland Primary School.

    The $5 million program, delivered by the Department of Education and Horizon Power, will provide rooftop solar systems to 30 regional public schools throughout Western Australia.

    This investment will create approximately 12 new full-time jobs across regional WA, during the 18-month construction period, and facilitate two new Aboriginal electrical apprenticeships.

    The program will reduce the school’s greenhouse gas emissions by more than 2,000 tonnes each year – the equivalent of taking around 400 cars off the road.

    This aligns with the McGowan Government’s Distributed Energy Resources Roadmap, which is committed to providing safe and reliable electricity at the lowest cost, while also making the State cleaner and more sustainable.

    The initiative is part of the McGowan Government’s $200 million School Maintenance Blitz, announced on September 22, 2019, to address high priority maintenance, minor works and upgrades.

    As stated by Education and Training Minister Sue Ellery:

    “The Solar Schools program is creating new, practical ways for students and teachers to acquire new skills in STEM (science, technology, engineering, mathematics) areas such as solar technology.

    “The McGowan Government is proud to be delivering on its commitment to improving the maintenance of schools around the State, regardless of their location.”

    As stated by Energy Minister Bill Johnston:

    “Through the Solar Schools program, the McGowan Government is delivering on its commitment to a cleaner, greener renewable energy future for Western Australia.

    “Energy is a significant expense for our schools and this program will allow them to each save 27 per cent on electricity costs – collectively, that’s $1.7 million worth of savings each year.”

    The full list of participating schools include:

    • Baler Primary School
    • Baynton West Primary School
    • Cascade Primary School
    • Cassia Primary School
    • Castletown Primary School
    • Condingup Primary School
    • Derby District High School
    • Esperance Primary School
    • Esperance Senior High School
    • Halls Creek District High School
    • Hedland Senior High School
    • Karratha Primary School
    • Karratha Senior High School
    • Laverton School
    • Leonora District High School
    • Looma Remote Community School
    • Meekatharra District High School
    • Millars Well Primary School
    • Munglinup Primary School
    • Norseman District High School
    • Nulsen Primary School
    • One Arm Point Remote Community School
    • Pegs Creek Primary School
    • Port Hedland Primary School
    • Salmon Gums Primary School
    • Scaddan Primary School
    • South Hedland Primary School
    • Tambrey Primary School
    • Wiluna Remote Community School
    • Wyndham District High School

    /Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.