Mitchell Shire revoked as a hotspot

Department of the Chief Minister and Cabinet

The NT Chief Health Officer has confirmed that Mitchell Shire will be revoked as a hotspot from 12.01pm on Friday 13 November 2020.

This means that people arriving in the Northern Territory from Mitchell Shire will no longer have to undertake mandatory supervised quarantine. Anyone currently in mandatory quarantine from Mitchell Shire will be able to exit.

Mitchell Shire includes the towns of Broadford, Kilmore, Seymour, Tallarook, Pyalong and Wallan.

Greater Melbourne remains a declared hotspot for the purpose of travel to the Northern Territory.

Decisions on declaring and revoking hotspots are reviewed and made by the NT Chief Health Officer and take into account the monitoring and data collection of COVID-19, extent of community transmission and risks to the NT community.

The risk of COVID-19 in our communities cannot be eliminated which is why it is important for everyone, particularly those people travelling from interstate, to follow all health guidance.

· If you have COVID-19 symptoms, do not travel. Make sure you get tested and stay at home.

· Maintain a physical distance of 1.5m at all times.

· Wash your hands with soap and water and use hand sanitiser regularly.

· Cough and sneeze into your elbow or a tissue. Put your tissue in the bin straight away.

· Do not go to work if you feel sick.

· If you have symptoms, stay away from others and call a doctor or the NT COVID-19 Hotline on 1800 008 002.

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) might be of the point-in-time nature, and edited for clarity, style and length. Mirage.News does not take institutional positions or sides, and all views, positions, and conclusions expressed herein are solely those of the author(s).View in full here.