NSW Farmers welcomes additional disaster assistance

NSW Farmers President James Jackson has thanked the state and federal governments for listening to calls for additional natural disaster declarations.

Disaster assistance is now available in 13 additional local government areas of Blayney, Brewarrina, Broken Hill, Cabonne, Cobar, Gilgandra, Gunnedah, Gwydir, Narrabri, Port Macquarie Hastings, Upper Hunter, Warrumbungle and Weddin.

“This will no doubt come as a relief to many farmers and rural communities who have been seriously impacted by this rain and flooding,” Mr Jackson said.

“Minister McKenzie and Minister Elliott are to be commended for listening to the community and extending these natural disaster declarations.

“While there is still substantial rain on the radar for the weekend and no doubt many will be closely watching flood levels, this announcement will give some assurance that recovery and rebuilding can begin once the waters recede.”

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.